Heineken Cup Referees – Rounds 5 / 6

Following a meeting of ERC’s Match Officials Sub-Committee in which Match Officials Performance Manager, Donal Courtney, presented a review of performances to date, the appointments for Rounds 5 and 6 of the Heineken Cup were announced today, Thursday, 22 December 2011.

English referee, Dave Pearson, will edge ever closer to the 50-match milestone when he takes charge of key games in both Rounds 5 and 6 in the New Year.

Pearson has been handed two crucial games as the race for qualification for the knockout stages comes down to the wire. In Round 5, he will be in Paris to control the game between Racing Metro 92 and Pool 2 leaders Edinburgh Rugby, while a week later he will be in France again to take charge of what could be a Pool 4 decider between ASM Clermont Auvergne and Ulster Rugby at Stade Marcel Michelin.

Those two fixtures will take Pearson’s tally of Heineken Cup games to 48, just two short of the exclusive 50-match group that includes Irish duo, Alan Lewis (71) and Alain Rolland (62), Wales’ Nigel Owens (58) and compatriot Chris White (53).

At the other end of the appearance scale, Ireland’s Dudley Phillips will make his Heineken Cup debut when he takes charge of Montpellier v Bath Rugby in Round 5, and Leighton Hodges of Wales will have his second tournament outing when he referees the Pool 4 clash between Aironi Rugby and ASM Clermont Auvergne also in Round 5.

Following every round of both the Heineken Cup and the Amlin Challenge Cup, ERC conducts a comprehensive review of all games in conjunction with referee managers in each Union and actively encourages feedback on the performances of the officials from the clubs’ coaching staff with a view to achieving greater consistency of interpretation.

(All kick-offs local time)


Friday, 13 January 2012

Pool 2 Racing Metro 92 v Edinburgh Rugby 21.00 Dave Pearson (E)

Pool 4 Ulster Rugby v Leicester Tigers 20.00 Romain Poite (F)

Pool 5 Ospreys v Benetton Treviso 20.00 JP Doyle (E)

Saturday, 14 January 2012

Pool 1 Scarlets v Northampton Saints 13.30 Alain Rolland (I)

Pool 1 Munster Rugby v Castres Olympique 15.40 Andrew Small (E)

Pool 2 London Irish v Cardiff Blues 15.40 Neil Paterson (S)

Pool 3 Montpellier v Bath Rugby 14.00 Dudley Phillips (I)

Pool 4 Aironi Rugby v ASM Clermont Auvergne 14.30 Leighton Hodges (W)

Pool 6 Toulouse v Connacht Rugby 16.40 Wayne Barnes (E)

Pool 6 Harlequins v Gloucester Rugby 18.00 Pascal Gauzere (F)

Sunday, 15 January 2012

Pool 3 Glasgow Warriors v Leinster Rugby 12.45 Nigel Owens (W)

Pool 5 Saracens v Biarritz Olympique 15.00 George Clancy (I)


Friday, 20 January 2012

Pool 6 Connacht Rugby v Harlequins 20.00 Nigel Owens (W)

Pool 6 Gloucester Rugby v Toulouse 20.00 George Clancy (I)

Saturday, 21 January 2012

Pool 1 Castres Olympique v Scarlets 18.00 JP Doyle (E)

Pool 1 Northampton Saints v Munster Rugby 19.00 Romain Poite (F)

Pool 3 Bath Rugby v Glasgow Warriors 13.30 John Lacey (I)

Pool 3 Leinster Rugby v Montpellier 13.30 Greg Garner (E)

Pool 4 Leicester Tigers v Aironi Rugby 15.40 Christophe Berdos (F)

Pool 4 ASM Clermont Auvergne v Ulster Rugby 16.40 Dave Pearson (E)

Sunday, 22 January 2012

Pool 2 Cardiff Blues v Racing Metro 92 15.15 Andrew Small (E)

Pool 2 Edinburgh Rugby v London Irish 15.15 Peter Fitzgibbon (I)

Pool 5 Benetton Treviso v Saracens 14.00 Alain Rolland (I)

Pool 5 Biarritz Olympique v Ospreys 14.00 Wayne Barnes (E)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here