Curling Continental Cup begins in Canada

The World Financial Group Continental Cup, presented by Monsanto, gets
underway Thursday at the Langley Events Centre in British Columbia.

It’s the second year of title sponsorship by World Financial Group and the
eighth edition of this unique international curling competition, featuring
six teams from North America versus six teams representing The World in a
variety of disciplines during the four days – Team Games, Mixed Doubles,
Singles, Mixed Skins and Skins.

Each segment awards points for wins (or ties), with the first side to reach
201 points declared the winner.  Currently, North America holds a 4-3 edge
over Team World since the inaugural Continental Cup was contested in 2002 in
Regina.   The sides have alternated winning ever since the first edition.

North America won in 2002, 2004 (in Medicine Hat), 2007 (in Medicine Hat)
and 2011 (in St. Albert). Team World (then Team Europe) won in 2003 (in
Thunder Bay), 2006 (in Chilliwack) and 2008 (in Camrose). There were no
Continental Cups in 2005, 2009 and 2010.

In association with the World Curling Federation, TSN will provide
web-streamed coverage to viewers outside Canada which will be available on
the WCF website:

Team World’s colours will be worn by teams skipped by Norway’s Thomas Ulsrud
of Oslo, Sweden’s Niklas Edin of Karlstad, Scotland’s Tom Brewster of
Aberdeen, Sweden’s Anette Norberg of Karlstad, China’s Bingyu Wang of Harbin
and Scotland’s Eve Muirhead of Dunkeld.

The captain for Team World will be Scotland’s David Hay, another former
world champion, while Sweden’s Peja Lindholm, a three-time world champion,
returns as coach, looking for his third Cup win (2003 as a player, 2008 as

Ulsrud is the reigning consecutive two-time European champion who also
earned a silver medal at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, while
Brewster and Edin collected silver and bronze medals, respectively, at the
2011 Ford World Men’s Curling Championship in Regina, Canada.

Ulsrud and Edin were members of Team World when winning the 2008 Continental
Cup while Brewster is making his Cup debut.

Norberg, a two-time (2006, 2010) Olympic gold medallist, won her third world
title last year in Esbjerg, Denmark.  She’s also a three-time Continental
Cup winner (2003, 2006, 2008).  Bingyu Wang, the 2009 world champion, was
also a bronze medallist at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games and 2011 World
Women’s and a member of winning Team World at the 2008 Continental Cup.

Muirhead, making her Cup debut, won a silver medal at the 2010 Ford World
Women’s Curling Championship in Swift Current, Canada, is a four-time world
junior champion and the reigning European champion, after her team’s victory
last December in Moscow.

North America will be represented by four teams from Canada and two from the
United States – skipped by Winnipeg’s Jeff Stoughton, the reigning Ford
World Men’s champion and three-time Brier (Canadian Men’s Championship)
winner, three-time world champion Glenn Howard of Coldwater, Ontario, Amber
Holland of Kronau, Saskatchewan, the reigning Scotties (Canadian Women’s
Championship) champion and 2011 Capital One World Women’s silver medallist,
Stefanie Lawton of Saskatoon, a two-time Canada Cup winner and former
Canadian junior champion, along with the current U.S. national champions –
Pete Fenson of Bemidji, Minnesota and Patti Lank of Lewiston, New York.

It will be the first Continental Cup appearance for Stoughton and Holland.
Howard was a member of the winning North America side in 2007, while Lawton
played in 2008. Fenson, the 2006 Olympic bronze medallist, has participated
in three previous Cups, winning in 2011, while Lank, a former worlds silver
medallist, was on the winning side in 2002 and 2004.

The captain will be former world champion Julie Skinner of Victoria, British
Columbia, who also played for North America when winning the first
Continental Cup in 2002, while three-time Brier winner and two-time world
champion Rick Lang of Thunder Bay will return as coach after winning last

Team games, at eight ends only, will be played Thursday and Friday, as will
two Mixed Doubles sessions. On Saturday, the 20-point and 30-point Skins
games, including Mixed Skins, will be held, along with the Singles
competition.  On Sunday, the women’s (at 10:30 am PT) and men’s (5:00 pm PT)
55-point Skins games will be contested.  For up-to-the-minute draw results,

The winning side receives $52,000 Cdn ($2,000 per member, including captain
and coach), while the losing side gets $26,000 ($1,000 per member, including
captain and coach). As well, the side that wins the final Men’s Skins game
will receive an additional $13,000.
The World Financial Group Continental Cup is a joint venture of the Canadian
Curling Association, World Curling Federation and United States Curling

Captain:  David Hay, Scotland
Coach:  Peja Lindholm**, Sweden

CHINA – Harbin CC, Harbin

Bingyu Wang*, Qingshuang Yue*, Jinli Liu, Yan Zhou*

SCOTLAND – Dunkeld Curling Club, Dunkeld Eve Muirhead, Anna Sloan, Vicki
Adams, Claire Hamilton

SWEDEN – Karlstads CK, Karlstad

Anette Norberg***, Cissi Östlund, Sara Carlsson, Lotta Lennartsson


NORWAY – Snarøen CC, Oslo
Thomas Ulsrud*, Torger Nergård*, Christoffer Svae*, Håvard Vad Petersson*

SCOTLAND – Club Aberdeen, Aberdeen
Tom Brewster, Greg Drummond, Scott Andrews, Michael Goodfellow

SWEDEN – Karlstads CK, Karlstad
Niklas Edin*, Sebastian Kraupp, Fredrik Lindberg, Viktor Kjäll

Captain:  Julie Skinner*, Canada
Coach: Rick Lang*, Canada

CANADA – Kronau Curling Club, Kronau, Saskatchewan Amber Holland, Kim
Schneider, Tammy Schneider, Heather Kalenchuk

CANADA – Granite Curling Club, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Stefanie Lawton,
Sherry Anderson, Sherri Singler, Marliese Kasner

UNITED STATES – Rochester Curling Club, Rochester, New York
Patti Lank**, Nina Spatola*, Caitlin Maroldo, Mackenzie Lank

CANADA – Coldwater & District Curling Club, Coldwater, Ontario Glenn
Howard*, Wayne Middaugh, Brent Laing*, Craig Savill*

CANADA – Charleswood Curling Club, Winnipeg, Manitoba Jeff Stoughton, Jon
Mead, Reid Carruthers, Steve Gould

UNITED STATES – Bemidji Curling Club, Bemidji, Minnesota Pete Fenson*, Shawn
Rojeski*, Joe Polo*, Ryan Brunt*

*one-time Cup winner
**two-time Cup winner
***three-time Cup winner
(as player and/or captain/coach)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here