UCC win centenary Sigerson Cup


It was three days of great entertainment in Belfield with the centenary Sigerson Cup being lifted by a brave UCC who defeated UUJ in the final. It was UCC’s first title since 1995.

UCC led by 0-4 to 0-2 at half-time and maintained their advantage through the second half.

It was a very tight last ten minutes after UUJ fought back from 0-07 to 0-02 to get within a point only for UCC to score the last two points of the match through Mark Collins and Johnny Buckley.

Billy Morgan’s UCC had beaten the pre-tournament favourites DCU on Thursday and it set them up for today’s victory.

Kevin O’Driscoll captained the UCC team in place of Adrian Greaney who broke his leg in yesterdays semi-final.

UUJ: G Kelly, D Mone, B Donaghy, C Galligan (0-1),K Dyas (0-1), D Morgan, C McGinley (0-2) C Murney, N Holly, D McNulty, C O’Boyle, P Hughes, J McAnulla, M Donnelly (0-1) C McManus (0-2, 1f).
Subs: E McGuckin for McAnulla, G McCartan for Murney, C Donnelly for Hughes, J O’Neill for McNulty

UCC: K O’Halloran, P Crowley, E O’Mahony, J O’Sullivan, S Kiely (0-1), N Daly, B Daly, K O’Driscoll (0-2), J Fitzpatrick, W Kennedy (0-1), M Collins (0-2, 1f), JB Spillane, B O’Driscoll (0-3, 2f), D Casey, J Buckley (0-1).
Subs: S O’Brien for Kennedy, S Betson for Casey, M Griffin for B O’Driscoll

Referee: D Coldrick (Meath)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.