Leinster v Treviso preview & team news

Click for the betting on the Six Nations and claim your free bets

While the Six Nations may be the main focus of rugby fans in this part of the world currently, the domestic actions returns as Leinster welcome Treviso to the RDS on Thursday night, kick off 7.05pm.

Although Joe Schmidt is unable to pick the majority of his front line internationals, who are all away on duty with Ireland, the Leinster coach is still able to call on the likes of Isa Nacewa, Kevin McLaughlin, who will captain the side, and Shane Jennings.

Despite sitting top of the Rabo Pro 12 table, Schmidt is taken nothing for granted in Thursday’s clash. “Treviso have won three times away and three times at home and each time they have won away it has been with pretty much the team they are going to bring on Thursday,” Schmidt told the Leinster website.

“They won away at Ulster, away at Glasgow and away at Connacht so they are very much a formidable opposition.

“I think the win against Ulster was a really good effort and Ulster had a lot of their top guys available and they struggled in that match.

“And I think when they beat Glasgow it was the week after we lost to them so as far as challenges are concerned it is a good way to restart our PRO12 campaign and I think it will be a tough test.”

Treviso coach Franco Smith, like Schmidt, is without a number of internationals who are away with Italy. However, he welcomes back Gonzalo Garci, Alberto Di Bernardo, Alberto Chillon and Benjamin De Jager, who returns on the wing having recovered from a chest injury, while Francesco Minto is back in at lock.

15: Isa Nacewa
14: Darren Hudson
13: Brendan Macken
12: Colm O’Shea
11: Fionn Carr
10: Ian Madigan
9: Isaac Boss
1: Heinke van der Merwe
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Nathan White
4: Damian Browne
5: Devin Toner
6: Kevin McLaughlin (captain)
7: Shane Jennings
8: Leo Auva’a


16: Tom Sexton
17: Jack McGrath
18: Jamie Hagan
19: Mark Flanagan
20: Jordi Murphy
21: John Cooney
22: Noel Reid
23: Andrew Boyle

15 Ludovico Nitoglia
14 Benjamin De Jager
13 Ezio Galon
12 Andrea Pratichetti
11 Brendan Williams
10 Alberto Di Bernardo
9 Alberto Chillon
8 Marco Filippucci
7 Benjamin Vermaak
6 Gonzalo Padrò
5 Valerio Bernabò (captain)
4 Francesco Minto
3 Ignacio Fernandez Rouyet
2 Enrico Ceccato
1 Matteo Muccignat

16 Diego Vidal
17 Carlo Fazzari
18 Pedro Di Santo
19 Marco Fuser
20 Enrico Pavanello
21 Simon Picone
22 Gonzalo Garcia
23 Tommaso Iannone

Referee: Leighton Hodges (WRU, 12th competition game)
Assistant Referees:Mark Patton, Richard Kerr (both IRFU)
Citing Commissioner : John West (IRFU)
TMO: Alan Rogan (IRFU)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.