FAI confirm 20 clubs for Airtricity League

With just 16 days to go until the start of the 2012 season kicks off, the 20 senior clubs who have made the cut and earned the right to compete in the Airtricity League of Ireland for the coming season have been confirmed by the FAI this evening.

Click for the betting on Euro 2012 and and Airtricity League

So stringent are the FAI’s demands that all clubs were holding their breath as to whether they would attain a licence.

The league’s oldest clubs Bohemians were thought to be most in danger. Despite owing €4million to Zurich Bank, the Dalymount club were granted a Premier Division licence. SD Galway were granted a First Division licence despite applying after the deadline (because they didn’t exist before the deadline). Wexford Youths were also granted a First Division licence despite the financial difficulties of their benefactor Mick Wallace.

Following a meeting of the FAI’s Independent Club Licensing Committee, 15 Premier Division licences and five First Division licences were awarded.

Cobh Ramblers and Tralee Dynamos were unsuccessful in their application for a First Division licence.

Many clubs have missed out on a 2012 Airtricity League license

Clubs have five working days from the date of the decision notice to lodge an appeal.

Independent Club Licensing Committee – 2012 Licence Awards

Premier Division Licence: Athlone Town FC, Bohemian FC, Bray Wanderers FC, Cork City FC, Derry City FC, Drogheda United FC , Dundalk FC, Longford Town FC, Monaghan United FC, Shamrock Rovers FC, Shelbourne FC, Sligo Rovers FC, St. Patrick’s Athletic, UCD AFC, Waterford United FC,

First Division Licence: Finn Harps FC, Limerick FC, Mervue United FC, SD Galway, Wexford Youths FC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.