Rugby League: Irish Student Squad Named

Ireland Student Head Coach, Nicky Howard, has today named his final squad for the upcoming regional championships in Widnes.

The squad was finalised following a tough training session which saw the members of the train-on squad put through their paces as they looked to be named in the final squad.

Among six uncapped players is Ballyfermot Bear’s Anthony McCreery. The Ballyfermot club are yet to make their Rugby League Ireland club debut so a great honour for the fledgling club.

Howard had the luxury of including ten players who have been capped previously at this level along with a senior international in the form of Joe Taylor.

Taylor made appearances in all three of Ireland’s Alitalia Cup Campaign last October and will be hoping to continue to impress in Widnes.

The squad will travel to the regional’s on the 25th of March for the tournament which kicks off on the 26th.

Speaking on the unveiling of the squad Howard thanked the members of the train on squad for their hard work.

“It was great to see the effort that was put in by all the members of the squad. It is encouraging to have so much enthusiasm and talent which was on show throughout the trials.”

“I would also like to thank Portarlington for allowing the squad to make the club its base during the trial period and all training sessions.”

Squad List:

Alan Harvey, Anthony Barry, Anthony McCreery *, Cathal O’Reilly, Cian Erraught, Conor Farrell *, Darragh Williamson, Hugh McGovern *, James O’Connell, Joe Taylor, Kieran Hyland *, Neal O’Keefe *, Paddy Doran *, Patrick O’Connor, Peter Carr, Stephen Oakley

*Denotes Uncapped Player


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.