Aironi vs Leinster live commentary

Live commentary and score updates from the Leinster’s RaboDirect Pro12 clash with Aironi, kick off 6pm

Click to have 20e on Man Utd to beat Tottenham @ 3/1, they are 6/4 best price and as an added bonus receive a 40e free bet

Hit F5 or refresh for updates

Aironi 6 – 22 Leinster
80 min played


5 min PENALTY! Ian Madigan (Leinster) 0-3
27 min PENALTY! Ian Madigan (Leinster) 0-6
39 min PENALTY! Ian Madigan (Leinster) 0-9
45 min PENALTY! Naas Olivier (Aironi) 3-9
60 min PENALTY! Naas Olivier (Aironi) 6-9
68 min PENALTY! Ian Madigan (Leinster) 6-12
72 min PENALTY! Ian Madigan (Leinster) 6-15
75 min TRY! Noel Reid (Leinster) 6-20
76 min CONVERSION! Ian Madigan (Leinster) 6-22


80+1 min Full-time. A late scoring surge sees Leinster secure a 22-6 victory over Aironi.
78 min Madigan kicks into the Aironi half from a penalty.
76 min CONVERSION! Madigan adds the conversion.
75 min TRY! Noel Reid intercepts an Aironi pass and runs over half the field to score for Leinster.
74 min Penalty to Aironi and they kick to the Leinster 22.
72 min PENALTY! Another penalty from Ian Madigan gives Leinster a nine point lead. That should settle the match as a contest.
72 min Gilberto Pavan sinbinned for a dangerous tackle.
68 min PENALTY! Madigan converts easily.
66 min Great line break from Ian Madigan creates an opening for Leinster. They work the ball out wide to the right. Aironi are penalised and Madigan will have the chance to increase the lead to six points.
64 min The period of Aironi pressure is halted after a penalty is awarded to Leinster. Madigan clears to touch.
63 min Aironi build again are at the Leinster 22.
60 min PENALTY! Naas Olivier splits the posts to make it a three point game.
59 min Aironi’s pressure is rewarded with a penalty on the 22 to the right of the goals.
57 min Missed opportunity for Aironi. The Italian team work the ball into the Leinster 22 then throw the ball out wide to the left. An Aironi player is left unmarked, but the pass from Roberto Quartaroli is delayed and the player is tackled.
55 min Aironi win a lineout and hold possession near midfield.
54 min Good running from Eoin O’Malley, Luke Fitzgerald and Fionn Carr sees Leinster break forward and get near the Aironi 22. An Aironi player manages to get his hand to a pass and disrupt momentum.
53 min Great break from Giulio Toniolatti sees him make a lot of ground for Aironi. The Italian side lose possession after another knock-on, however.
52 min Madigan shoots wide.
51 min Penalty for Leinster around midfield and just to the right of the posts.
49 min Leinster scrum ten metres from their own line. Isaac Boss clears.
45 min PENALTY! Not a perfect kick from Naas Olivier but the ball sneaks inside the right hand post.
44 min Penalty to Aironi in front of the posts.
43 min Aironi slowly build and are inside the Leinster 22.
41 min Second half is underway.

Half-Time Leinster lead 9-0 at the interval after a scrappy first half. Aironi have defended well and forced turnovers in key situations. Three Ian Madigan penalties have given Leinster a comfortable lead at half-time, however.

40+1 min Half-time.
39 min PENALTY! Madigan’s shot goes over off the post.
38 min Penalty for Leinster to the right of the posts.
36 min Good defence from Aironi stops Leinster at the try line a few times before the Italian team forces a turnover.
34 min Another penalty for Leinster and Madigan finds touch inside the Aironi 22 this time.
33 min Penalty for Leinster near midfield but Madigan fails to find touch.
31 min Aironi win a lineout then knock the ball on.
28 min Great break forward from Fionn Carr as he slips through two Aironi defenders. He passes to Luke Fitzgerald, but the full back knocks the ball on.
27 min PENALTY! Madigan converts easily. Leinster lead by six.
26 min Dangerous high tackle from prop Lorenzo Romano leads to a Leinster penalty in a good position.
25 min Lineout for Leinster around midfield.
24 min An extended break as an Aironi player is stretchered off.
22 min Tebaldi makes a great break forward and almost gets over the try line. He fails to release on the ground and Leinster are awarded a penalty.
21 min Aironi inside the Leinster 22.
20 min Wasted opportunity for Aironi as a pass goes out of play.
19 min Good kick into the Leinster corner forces Fitzgerald to clear for touch. Lineout just outside the Leinster 22 for Aironi.
18 min Aironi force a turnover in their own half after Leinster had slowly worked the ball up the field.
15 min Good break forward by Aironi on the right wing, but they are penalised for crossing.
13 min Madigan kicks a penalty wide from a decent position.
11 min Dodgy moment for Leinster. A forward drive is stopped at the Aironi try line. Leinster work the ball to the left, but Tito Tebaldi almost intercepts the ball. He would have had a chance to make a lot of ground if he had completed the interception.
10 min Penalty to Leinster and Madigan kicks into the Aironi 22.
8 min Penalty awarded to Aironi, but Naas Olivier kicks wide.
7 min Some aggressive tackling from Aironi around midfield.
5 min PENALTY! Ian Madigan splits the post.
4 min Leinster are awarded a penalty for offsides. Some good running from the Irish province.
3 min Aironi win a lineout in their own 22 and clear their lines.
1 min The match is underway in Italy.
0 min The players are ready and about to kickoff.


Aironi: 15 Giulio Toniolatti; 14 Riccardo Pavan, 13 Roberto Quartaroli, 12 Gabriel Pizarro, 11 Sinoti Sinoti; 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Tito Tebaldi; 8 Josh Sole, 7 Simone Favaro, 6 Nicola Cattina; 5 Carlo Del Fava, 4 George Biagi; 3 Lorenzo Romano, 2 Roberto Santamaria (Captain), 1 Matias Aguero.

Replacements: 16 Fabio Ongaro, 17 Alberto De Marchi, 18 Salvatore Perugini, 19 Luca Redolfini, 20 Filippo Ferrarini, 21 Tyson Keats, 22 Luciano Orquera, 23 Gilberto Pavan.

Coach: Rowland Phillips

Leinster: 15 Luke Fitzgerald, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Eoin O’Malley, 12 Brendan Macken, 11 Fionn Carr, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Isaac Boss; 1 Heinke van der Merwe, 2 Richardt Strauss, 3 Nathan White, 4 Damian Browne, 5 Devin Toner, 6 Kevin McLaughlin, 7 Shane Jennings (Captain), 8 Rhys Ruddock

Replacements: A Dundon, J McGrath, J Hagan, L Auva’a, D Ryan, J Cooney, N Reid, I Nacewa.

Coach: Josef Schmidt


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here