Munster U21 Football previews & score updates

The 2012 Cadbury’s Munster U21 football quarter final previews and live score updates

Press F5 or Refresh for latest
Limerick 0-10 2-07 Clare, Gaelic Grounds Limerick FT
Tipperary 0-05 0-11 Kerry, Semple Stadium Thurles FT

Live Commentary
8:49min Clare win by 3pts & Kerry win by 6pts.
8:47pm Ian Corbett gets a striaght red for Limerick.
8:46pm Limerick doing all the attacking but it looks like the clock will beat them.
8:45pm Stephen O’Brien with another point for Kerry.
8:43pm Stephen O’Brien brings Kerry double scores against Tipperary.
8:42pm Looks like Tipperary & Limerick need goals.
8:38pm No score in the Kerry v Tipperary match for quite a while.
8:37pm Eoghan O’Connor with another free, Limerick back to three points down.
8:35pm Cathal McInerney kick a goal for Clare who still lead by four points.
8:30pm Derry O’Connor brings Limerick back to within one.
8:27pm Connor Cox extends Kerrys lead to four points.
8:25pm An easy free for Limerick’s Eoghan O’Connor leaves two points in it.
8:21pm Stephen O’Brien kicks over the first point of the second half for Kerry.
8:19pm Stephen Tierney kicks his third point of the evening to restore Limericks three point half time lead.
8:16pm Francis O’Riordan brings Limerick to within two points.
8:04pm Tipps’s Liam Treacy leaves only two in it at half time in Thurles.
8:03pm Ian Corbett brings Limerick back to a goal down with the last kick of the first half.
8:01pm Couple of quick score in the Kerry- Limerick match but still two between them as it approaches half time.
7:59pm Eoghan O’Connor kicks over a free for Limerick.
7:57pm Stephen Tierney for Clare brings them now 5pts up.
7:54pm Cathal McInerney extends the Clare lead to 4pts.
7:53pm Adrian Cleere brings Tipperary to within three of Kerry.
7:51pm Donagh Leahy gets Tipperarys first score of the evening.
7:50pm Cathal McInerney scores a goal for Clare, it was a great run from the 45 yard line.
7:49pm Derry O’Connor for Limerick & Stephen Tierney for Clare keep the side level.
7:45pm Stephen O’Brien gives Kerry a 5pt lead.
7:42pm Enda Finucane scores for Clare after a 45 was taken short.
7:40pm Jamie Lee scores from a free to give Limerick the lead, Kerry go 4pts up through a Conor Cox free.
7:37pm Darren O’Neill equalises for Clare.
7:35pm Pa Kilkenny & Kieran Hurley score for Kerry. Eoghan O’Connor gives Limerick an early lead.
7:33pm First score of the night comes from Kerry’s Conor Cox.
7:30pm Both matches get underway.

Limerick v Clare, Gaelic Grounds Limerick @ 7:30pm
The visit of Clare to the Gaelic Grounds sees the visitors seeking to avoid a third successive loss to their near neighbours.
Clondegad’s Shane Brennan, one of the county’s senior panel also, captains a side managed by Colm Collins.

Senior stars Conor Ryan and Padraic Collins are expected to take their place in the side after recent injury worries.
Limerick, who will be managed tonight, by John Cummins, emerged victorious (2-11 to 0-15) when the teams met at the same venue last year but only after extra time.

The home side will be looking to Darragh Treacy and Ian Corbett to set them on the road to victory. A close encounter is inevitable once again.

VERDICT :My vote on this occasion goes to Clare.

Team news:
CLARE U21F: W DeLoughery; E Ralph, E Malone, M O’Connor; Sean Malone, S Collins, S Tierney; K O’Connor, C Ryan; D O’Neill, P Collins, S Brennan; E Finnucane, C McInerney, S O’Driscoll.

LIMERICK U21F: J Brouder; A Morrissey, A O’Sullivan, C McLoughlin; J O’Meara, T McCarthy, S Sheehan; D Treacy, I Corbett; G O’Connor, E O’Connor, F O’Riordan; D O’Dea, J Donovan, J Lee.

Tipperary v Kerry
Venue: Semple Stadium Thurles @ 7:30pm
Referee: Conor Lane (Cork)
Extra time if necessary

Tipperary football is on the up and up following the county’s great win in last year’s All Ireland Minor championships. The team on duty tonight at Semple Stadium includes several of the victorious team including Clonmel Commercial’s star full forward Michael Quinlivan.

Kerry, are managed by Éamonn Fitzmaurice ,the Finuge man who holds 3 Kerry All-Ireland winners medals between 1997 and 2007 and he is assisted by Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) – the holder of six Senior All Ireland medals so plenty of expert advice from the touchline for this relatively inexperienced Kerry team which does not include any of the County’s senior panel.

Rathmore’s Mark Reen is a surprise omission from the starting line-up whilst the injured Gavin O’Grady, though also on the bench, will be a big loss to Kerry who were far from impressive in a recent challenge against Dublin and everything suggests a Tipperary win on the night…but then if there is to be an upset it would not be the first time that the Kingdom’s footballers have surprised the pundits.Among the Kerry substitutes is one Eanna O’Connor, son of Jack and undoubtedly a star of the future. And who better to guide them that Eamonn and Darragh!

Verdict: Tipperary by four points.

TIPPERARY: Tipperary : E Comerford; G Mulhaire, J Ryan, M Hanly; D Leahy, N O’Meara, J O’Callaghan; A Campbell, A Matassa; S Leavy, A Cleere (captain), B Hewitt; L Treacy, M Quinlivan, L McGrath.

KERRY : P O’Sullivan,; P Galvin, M Griffin,, F McNamara; P Kilkenny, J Sherwood, P Murphy, D O’Sullivan, J Walsh, M Brennan, C Brady, S O’Carroll; K Hurley,, C Cox, S O’Brien

Some facts and figures you may not know about the Cadbury’s Munster Under 21 football championship, courtesy of Munster GAA :

· Attendances for the Munster Under 21 Football Championship have grown by 153% in the period 2007 through to 2011. This is consistent with the 51% rise in attendances for all Munster inter-county football competitions during that period (not including replays).

· All matches in this year’s competition will be played under lights on Wednesday nights for the second consecutive year.

· Cork have won 6 of the last 8 Munster Under 21 Football titles, winning 16 of their last 18 games in this Championship. Their only defeats since

2004 came against Kerry in Tralee in 2010 (0-19 to 1-8) and 2008 (0-15 to 0-10). Prior to 2004, Cork won just 2 of the previous 14 Munster Under 21 Football titles from 1990 to 2003 as Kerry won 9 of the 10 titles on offer during the 1990’s.

· Kerry have won 2 of the last 12 Munster Under 21 Football Championships, winning 13 of their 25 matches in that period.

· Tipperary have won at least 1 game in each of the last 5 Munster Under 21 Football campaigns. No other county has a current winning streak longer than 2 years.

· Though Limerick, Waterford and Tipperary have won this competition in this millennium, the combined record of the so called four weaker counties since 2000 is played 74, won 27, lost 44 and drawn 3 – a winning percentage of 36%.

· Kerry and Cork have dominated this competition and only once in the history of the championship were one or both counties not involved in the final. That was in 2000 when Limerick played Waterford in the Final in Dungarvan with Limerick lifting the crown for the first and only time on a 0-7 to 0-4 scoreline.

· Tipperary, who suffered defeat in 9 finals, recorded their first Munster Under 21 Football success when they overcame Kerry 1-7 to 1-6 in Tralee in 2010.

For the record Cork have appeared in 36 finals: Kerry in 34 finals: Tipperary in 10 finals: Clare in 10 finals: Waterford in 8 finals and Limerick in 4 finals

You can follow tonight’s games here on


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.