Munster U-21 Football: Clare overcome Limerick

Clare have overcome Limerick in the Munster Under 21 Football Championship Quarter-Final played at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick.

The final scoreline was 2-07 to 0-10 with the Banner coming out the right side of what was a tight tussle throughout.  The sides swapped points early on with Clare senior hurler Cathal McInerney netting on 15 minutes to put his side 0-03 to 1-03 ahead.  McInerney and Stephen Tierney raised further white flags to put the visitors five points ahead but late points from Eoin O’Connor and Ian Corbett meant there was a goal between the sides;  1-05 to 0-05 when the short whistle blew.

Limerick levelled the scores with quick-fire second-half points from Eoin O’Connor (2) and Derry O’Connor.  Darren O’Neill responded with a Clare point and McInerney’s second goal ten minutes from time put the visitors four points ahead.  Limerick scored the final point late on but time ran out for them as they lost by three.

This was Clare’s first win in three attempts against the Treaty County with the two counties having met each of the last four years in the Munster Championship.

Colm Collins’ Clare men will now head south for a clash with last year’s Munster Champions Cork at Páirc Uí Rínn on 28th March.  The Banner will be looking to reach a first U-21 final in 10 years (having never won the title);  whilst the Rebels will be looking for a 23rd Munster crown.

LIMERICK U-21 Football: J Brouder; A Morrissey, A O’Sullivan, C McLoughlin; J O’Meara, T McCarthy, S Sheehan; D Treacy, I Corbett; G O’Connor, E O’Connor, F O’Riordan; D O’Dea, J Donovan, J Lee

CLARE U-21 Football: W DeLoughery; E Ralph, E Malone, M O’Connor; Sean Malone, S Collins, S Tierney; K O’Connor, C Ryan; D O’Neill, P Collins, S Brennan; E Finnucane, C McInerney, S O’Driscoll.

Referee: Derek O’Mahony (Tipperary)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here