Korea v Ireland in Olympic hockey qualifier final

Ireland qualify for Olympic Qualifiers final at 4pm Sunday

Ireland 1 (0) John Jermyn pc 60m
Malaysia 1 (0) Nabil Noor Mohd 40m op

Ireland have secured a spot in the Final of the Electric Ireland FIH Road to London tournament against Korea at 4pm at the National Hockey Stadium, UCD, the winner of which will go to the London Olympics.

Malaysia went into this game knowing nothing but a win would do and six minutes in which they snuck along the end line looking for a gap but Harte in goals smoked out any chance. Ireland got the first penalty corner of the match in the 7th minute but the drag effort was saved. Ireland continued to create chances including one from a great Cargo sliding intercept but despite some good stickwork from Cockram and Magee they couldn’t get the shot away.

Ireland had another couple of corner chances but an on form Subramaniam in goals for Malaysia kept the Irish efforts at bay. Malaysia had a good chance minutes before half time when Saari was set up for a break but great leg work by Gleghorne warded off any threat and half time closed out nil all.

Ireland started strongly in the second half immediately securing a penalty corner but the drag was pulled wide.

Malaysia broke the deadlock in the 40th minute when a great free in was met by Mohd Noor at the back post who deflected it in for a 1-0 lead.

Ireland continued with three more penalty corners but it was third time lucky when John Jermyn equalised with a powerful drag flick in the 60th minute. Ireland managed to surge looking for another goal as the crowd made themselves heard getting behind the green machine.

Ireland had more chances than their opposition and despite a draw have done enough to face the world number 6’s tomorrow in what will no doubt be an electrifying final at 4pm. President Michael D Higgins will be in attendance at the final tomorrow and it will also be televised live on RTE television starting at 15.55.

Starting XI: David Harte GK; John Jackson; Geoff McCabe; Ronan Gormley; Michael Watt; Eugene Magee; Ian Sloan; Mitch Darling; David Ames; Paul Gleghorne; Stuart Loughrey
Reserves: Chris Cargo; John Jermyn; Andy McConnell; Timmy Cockram; Peter Caruth


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.