Leinster name team to face Cardiff Blues

The Leinster team to face the Cardiff Blues in Saturday’s Heineken Cup Quarter Final in the Aviva Stadium (KO: 5.45pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen captains the side for the visit of Cardiff and he is named in a pack which shows a number of changes from the side who defeated Munster 18-9 last weekend. Cullen partners Brad Thorn at second row, with Sean O’Brien – who will make his 25th Heineken Cup appearance – coming into the back-row alongside Kevin McLaughlin and number eight Jamie Heaslip.

The backline is unchanged with Eoin Reddan partnering Jonathan Sexton – who has amassed 300 points in 27 European appearances to date – at half back.

Fellow Ireland international Gordon D’Arcy forms the midfield partnership with Brian O’Driscoll for the 68th time in Leinster colours, while Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney and Isa Nacewa complete the back three.

South African loose-head prop Heinke van der Merwe is named alongside five Ireland internationals on the bench including the likes of Sean Cronin, Shane Jennings and Fergus McFadden.

Ticket sales for Saturday’s game are fast approaching the 50,000 mark and there are tickets still available from www.leinsterrugby.ie, Spar (Donnybrook) and from Ticketmaster vans around the ground from 3pm on Saturday, if not sold out prior.


15: Rob Kearney
14: Isa Nacewa
13: Brian O’Driscoll
12: Gordon D’Arcy
11: Luke Fitzgerald
10: Jonathan Sexton
9: Eoin Reddan

1: Cian Healy
2: Richardt Strauss
3: Mike Ross
4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
5: Brad Thorn
6: Kevin McLaughlin
7: Sean O’Brien
8: Jamie Heaslip


16: Sean Cronin
17: Heinke van der Merwe
18: Nathan White
19: Devin Toner
20: Shane Jennings
21: Isaac Boss
22: Ian Madigan
23: Fergus McFadden

REFEREE: David Pearson (RFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Pascal Gauzere (FFR), David Changleng (SRU), 4th OFFICIAL: Tim Wigglesworth (RFU), 5th OFFICIAL: Roy Maybank (RFU), TMO: Geoff Warren (RFU)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here