Irish athletes on US collegiate Cross Country

It was an interesting weekend on the American collegiate cross country season. In the Southland Conference McNeese runners David Rooney (Raheny Shamrocks AC) and Joshua Sawe were clear of the field when they ran off course with half a mile remaining.
By the time they realised what happened they found themselves in arrears and playing catch-up. The effort proved too much and they finished 4th and 5th respectively.
“It definitely hurt our momemtum,” said Rooney following the race. “But, it was one of those things.”

Cowboy head coach Brendon Gilroy filed a protest but it was not allowed and the results stayed as they were.

“That wrong turn definitely hurt their momemtum,” said Gilroy. “They had led all the way and there was only a little more than a half mile left. Even if they had finished one-two, we would have still been in second place as a team because Lamar ran such a good race.”

It was reported that a race official at the missed turn had pointed the two Cowboys one way and the following runners the other way.

Ciaran O’Lionaird continued his return to form with a fourth place finish in the ACC Conference in Franklin Park Boston. In his final college year he did his hsare of front running but was outpaced in the race to the line, just three seconds behind the winner.

Florida State’s 43-point effort was 38 points in front of second-place NC State and was enough to give the Seminoles the first-ever men’s conference championship in school history.

“We have been second and third a whole bunch over the years,” men’s coach Bob Braman said. “We have been in the hunt most of the last 10 years and it is just so exciting for these guys that we were able to break through this year. We have been so close and I just have never felt better. I am not surprised we won but I am surprised at how much we won by.

“We hit an emotional high and just rode that to the end.”

Two seniors guided the men’s team as Matt Leeder finished the race in third place with a time of 23:42.2. Fellow veteran Ciaran O’Lionaird was not far off that pace with a fourth-place finish on a time of 23:43.6.

Iona College men’s cross country team began its championship season in familiar fashion, earning its 20th straight Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Championship in dominating fashion. Junior Leonard Korir was the individual champion as the Gaels had seven of the race’s top 10 and 13 of the top 20 finishers at Hammonassett Beach State Park.

Iona’s team score was 18 in the race, nearly a third of second place Marist’s 53. Rider (115), Fairfield (130) and Manhattan (144) rounded out the top five.

Korir finished the 8k course with a time of 23:50.4, the second fastest time in a MAAC Championship held away from Van Cortlandt Park. Former Iona standout Vinny Mulvey was the only other harrier to break the 24-minute mark in the event back in 2000 at Disney’s Wide World of Sports in Lake Buena Vista, FL. Korir also became the ninth straight Gael to win the individual title.

Graduate Mitch Goose was the No. 2 finisher in 24:03.9 in what becomes the third fastest time at MAACs away from VCP. He crossed the line just over 13 seconds behind Korir and 25 seconds ahead of the third place finisher, Christian Gonzalez from Rider. Sophomore Craig Murphy was fourth (24:29.5).

The Gaels’ 20th straight conference championship extended the nation’s second longest active streak in Division I.

Seven student-athletes were recognized for their performance in the classroom, amongst them was Craig Murphy (Togher AC) on the MAAC All-Academic Team. To be eligible for the MAAC All-Academic Team, a student athlete must complete two semesters at their institution and hold a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.0 scale.

2010 MAAC Championship Madison, CT – 8k
1 Leonard Korir SR Iona College 23:50.4
2 Mitch Goose GR Iona College 24:03.9
3. Christian Gonzalez SR Rider 24:28.0
4. Craig Murphy SO Iona College 24:29.5
5 Matt Bayley JR Iona College 24:44.1
6. Benjamin Lindsay GR Iona College 24:49.5
7. Mathew Flint JR Marist 24:50.5
8. William Griffin JR Marist 24:52.7

2010 MAAC Championship Madison, CT – 6k
1. Heidi Gregson JR Iona College 21:02.5
2. Maura Frauenhofer SR Canisius 21:26.6
3. Natalie Finnerty SR Iona College 21:30.1
4. Marion Joly-Testault SO Iona College 21:40.5
5. Kiersten Anderson FR Marist 21:43.5
6. Kirsten Stewart FR Iona College 21:59.0
7. Tara Jameson FR Iona College 22:04.3
8. Christine Mulvihill JR Canisius 22:08.0

2010 Southland Conference Beaumont, TX – 10/28/2010
Men 8k Run CC

1 Patrick Kimeli SO TAMUCC 24:47.0
2 Bob Ahimbisibwe SO Lamar 24:49.7
3 Matt Johnsen SO Lamar 24:50.1
4 David Rooney JR McNeese State 24:56.6
5 Joshua Sawe SR McNeese State 25:02.9
6 Henry Rop SR Southeastern LA 25:07.6
7 Tallum Kipruto * JR Lamar 25:13.3
8 Cole Reveal JR UTSA 25:22.7
9 Albert Cardenas JR UTSA 25:27.3
10 Jarrett LeBlanc JR McNeese State 25:32.5
23 Chris Jones FR Lamar 26:22.0

Women 6k Run CC
1 Emily Koenig FR UT Arlington 21:30.3 1
2 Lauren Smith * SO Stephen F. Austin 21:38.0 2
3 Taylor Cloy JR Lamar 21:40.8 3
22 Fionnuala Ross SO McNeese State 22:40.2 22
32 Alvy Carragher JR McNeese State 23:13.4 32
56 Aisling Casey JR McNeese State 24:05.4

ACC Cross Country Championships Chestnut Hill, MA ?? Franklin Park
Mens 8000 Meter Run
1 Emil Heineking Sr Virginia 23:40.1
2 Ryan Collins Jr Virginia 23:40.5
3 Matthew Leeder Sr Florida State 23:42.2
4 Ciaran O’Lionaird Sr Florida State 23:43.6
5 Bo Waggoner Sr Duke 23:43.9 5
6 Adam Cunningham Jr North Carolina 23:44.1
7 Evan Watchempino Sr North Carolina 23:48.9
8 Greg Kelsey Sr Maryland 23:50.0

1 Donn Cabral JR Princeton 24:03.8
2 Daniel Chenoweth SR Harvard 24:14.0
3 Ethan Shaw JR Dartmouth 24:23.7
40 Conor Dooney JR Yale 25:37.1
50 Kevin Cooper SO Brown 25:47.6

Men 8k Run CC
1 Samoei, Isaiah SO Iowa Western CC 25:25.71
2 Lieghio, Anthony SO Iowa Central CC 26:31.46
3 Jarso, Kemal FR Iowa Central CC 26:55.21
4 Cotter, Tomas SO Iowa Central CC 27:00.61
5 Drake, Parker FR Iowa Central CC 27:04.24
6 Bett, Kipyegon FR North Iowa Area CC 27:08.45

1 Sheila Reid JR Villanova 20:31.9
2 Amanda Marino SR Villanova 20:35.2
3 Emily Infeld JR Georgetown 20:42.7
25 Charlotte Ffrench O’Carroll JR Providence 21:58.8

NEC Cross Country Championships New Britain, CT
1 Rebecca White SO 17:17.1 Quinnipiac Universit
2 Merel Van Steenbergen FR 17:35.8 Robert Morris Univer
3 Kimberly DeLoreto SR 17:42.2 Sacred Heart Univers
64 Eimear Black FR 19:59.6 Bryant University

A-10 Cross Country Championship Pittsburgh PA
1 Megan Hogan, 16:56 George Washington U.
2 Nicol Traynor, 17:17 4 Richmond – Women
3 Maura Bulgrin, 17:28 Univ. Of Dayton – Wom
56 Niamh Ryan, 18:53 Rhode Island

Sun Belt Cross Country Championships hosted by Western Kentucky
Women 5k
1 Marion Kandie JR Western 17:34.2
2 Vasity Chemweno SO Western 17:43.4
3 Friederike Feil SR Florida Atl 17:48.9
4 Kristina Aubert FR Arkansas St 18:01.0
4 Michelle Finn JR Western 18:01.0


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.