Camogie All-Star nominees announced

The shortlist for the 2012 All Stars in association with O’Neills has been announced with All Ireland champions Wexford and finalists Cork dominating this year’s 45 strong field.

Wexford received the most nominations (12) followed by Cork (11); Galway (7); Offaly (6); Tipperary and Clare (3); Kilkenny (2) while Dublin received only one. The winners will be announced at a black-tie event on Saturday November 3rd at the City West hotel, Saggart.

Wexford will hope to see their triple All Ireland winning exploits rewarded with captain Karen Atkinson and defensive colleagues, Catherine O’Loughlin, Claire O’Connor, Deirdre Codd and Noeleen Lambert all vying for spots on the final fifteen. Cork’s Gemma O’Connor, goalkeeper Aoife Murray along with midfielders Orla Cotter and Jennifer O’Leary are amongst the All Ireland finalists and league champions nominees.

Offaly who reached this year’s All Ireland semi-final have been rewarded with six nominations with top scorer Elaine Dermody amongst the full forward line-up and goalkeeper Eleanor Clendennen receiving her first nomination. Clare and Tipperary share three-a-piece while Muireann O’Gorman is Dublin’s sole nominee in this year’s list.

Speaking about today’s announcement President of the Camogie Association Aileen Lawlor said, “This year’s All Ireland Camogie Championship in association with RTÉ Sport was a fantastic year for camogie. With a new structure in operation counties played in a different format in opening and qualifying rounds. The All Ireland Finals in Croke Park will be talked about for many years to come. There were three incredible games involving 90 athletes over three hours in what was a most entertaining day for players and spectators and it was undoubtedly a fabulous showcase for camogie.”

“The All Star Awards pay tribute to the fantastic contribution of our players throughout the year from League to Championship, rewarding them for the entertainment and joy they bring to us throughout a very competitive playing season. These awards measure the outstanding displays of skill, talent, and total commitment by our players, both as individuals and as team players. It is a mark of recognition of the enormous contribution by our players to the game of Camogie.”

“Our Camogie All Stars are indeed stars and that is why we recognise and honour them at national level. I look forward to the announcement of the All Stars team of 2012 on November 3rd in City West. I would like to thank O’Neills for their outstanding dedication and support to the Camogie Association over the last number of years and we are delighted to have them on board as the official partner for this event.”

2012 All Star nominations:

Goalkeepers: Eleanor Clendennen (Offaly), Mags D’Arcy (Wexford), Aoife Murray (Cork)

Full-Backs: Karen Atkinson (Wexford), Rena Buckley (Cork), Jenny Duffy (Cork), Catherine Doherty (Kilkenny), Máire McGrath (Clare), Claire O’Connor (Wexford), Catherine O’Loughlin (Wexford), Lorraine Ryan (Galway), Sheila Sullivan (Offaly)

Half-Backs: Deirdre Codd (Wexford), Orlaith Duggan (Clare), Lorraine Keena (Offaly), Noeleen Lambert (Wexford), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Therese Maher (Galway), Niamh O’Dea (Clare), Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Mary Ryan (Tipperary)

Midfield: Orla Cotter (Cork), Siobhán Flannery (Offaly), Ann Marie Hayes (Galway), Jill Horan (Tipperary), Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Jennifer O’Leary (Cork)

Half-Forwards: Briege Corkery (Cork), Josie Dwyer (Wexford), Kate Kelly (Wexford), Anna Geary (Cork), Niamh McGrath (Galway), Muireann O’Gorman (Dublin), Michelle O’Leary (Wexford), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Nicole Walsh (Tipperary)

Full-Forwards: Síle Burns (Cork), Martina Conroy (Galway), Veronica Curtin (Galway), Elaine Dermody (Offaly), Ursula Jacob (Wexford), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Katrina Parrock (Wexford), Fiona Rochford (Wexford), Arlene Watkins (Offaly)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here