Connacht Rugby hammer awful Leinster side

Connacht Rugby got the result they have wanted for a long time against Leinster, they beat the Heineken Cup champions 34-6

First half tries from T O’Halloran, F Vainikolo, Dave McSherry set up the huge win with Dan Parkes having a storming match on his Connacht debut.

Michael Swift on his 150 appearance won the man of the match.


Rabo Pro 12
Connacht 34-6 Leinster, 8pm
80min Nikora conversion
79min Ronan Loughney Try
74min George Naoupu Try
37min T O’Halloran Try
24min Dan Parkes conversion
22min F Vainikolo Try
17min Ian Madigan penalty
15min Dan Parkes conversion
14min Dave McSherry Try
2min Ian Madigan penalty

Live commentary
9:55pm Its all over and Connacht win by an amazing 28pts.
9:50pm Ronan Loughney scores the fifth TRY for Connacht and Nikora kicks the conversion.
9:45pm Michael Smith wins the man of the match award.
9:44pm Its a fourth TRY for Connacht, Its George Naoupu with the score
9:42pm Still no score in the second half and there is only seven minutes to play.
9:34pm Leinster on the attack inside the Connacht 22 but Auva’a knocks on.
9:25pm Connacht lead Leinster by 16pts with 23min to play.
9:13pm Shocking penalty miss by Ian Madigan from in front of the posts.
9:03pm Dan Parkes kicks off the second half.
8:50pm Leinster are caught offside and Dan Parkes kicks the easy penalty over the bar on the stroke of half time.
8:47pm Dan Parkes misses the difficult penalty.
8:45pm Connacht get a third TRY this time its Tiernan O’Halleran in the corner
8:37pm Its a penalty to Connacht five yards from the tryline, Brian Macken is yellow carded for Leinster.
8:37pm Connacht nearly get in for another try but its well defended.
8:33pm Connacht lead 14-6 after 25minutes.
8:30pm Its a break away TRY for Connacht from F Vainikolo
8:23pm Half times scores from the AIL Garryowen 9-3 Dolphin, Old Belvedere 6-10 Lansdowne,
Shannon 3-11 Young Munster, 19:30
8:23pm Ian Madigan replies straight away with a penalty for Leinster.
8:21pm Dave McSherry scores a TRY under the posts for Connacht.
8:20pm Garryowen lead Dolphin 9-3
8:16pm Michael Swift looked to have scored a try for Connacht, but its scrum 5.
8:15pm Great defending by Connacht, they win a penalty and are up to the Leinster 22.
8:10pm Great break by Fionn Carr, Leinster could be in for an early try.
8:05pm Ian Madigan gives Leinster an early lead from a penalty.
8:02pm Connacht have a scrum on half way.
8:00pm We have kick off between Connacht & Leinster.
7:55pm Leinster: R Kearney; F McFadden, B Macken, G D’Arcy, F Carr; I Madigan, J Cooney; H van der Merwe, T Sexton, J Hagan; Q Roux, T Denton; B Marshall, S Jennings (c), L Auva’a.
Replacements: S Cronin, C Healy, M Ross, D Toner, J Murphy, L McGrath, N Reid, AN Other.
Connacht: R Henshaw; T O’Halloran, E Griffin, D McSharry, F Vainikolo; D Parks, K Marmion; D Buckley, A Flavin, N White (c); M Swift, M McCarthy; E McKeon, J O’Connor, G Naoupu.
Replacements: J Harris-Wright, B Wilkinson, R Loughney, D Gannon, W Faloon, D Moore, M Nikora, M Fifita.

William Hill Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here