Dublin beat All-Ireland champions Cork

Dublin scored three goals in front of their home crowd as they defeated All-Ireland champions Cork at Croke Park tonight.

Mossie Quinn, Kevin McManamon and Barry Cahill were the Blues scorers as the Dubs got their Spring Series of matches off to a winning start in both codes.

Cork trailed by 2-05 to 0-08 at half-time with Dublin’s Stephen Cluxton producing a fine save to deny Pearse O’Neill.

Cluxton kept a clean sheet as Bernard Brogan starred up front as Pat Gilroy’s men gained their first NFL win.

Dublin: Stephen Cluxton; Michael Fitzsimons, Seán Murray, Alan Hubbard; Paul Casey, James McCarthy, Declan Lally; Barry Cahill, Denis Bastick; Paul Flynn, Kevin McManamon, Diarmuid Connolly; Tomás Quinn, Eoghan O’Gara, Bernard Brogan.

Subs used: Dara Nelson for Lally (43 mins), Bryan Cullen for Connolly (45), Alan Brogan for O’Gara (53), Paddy Andrews for Quinn (61), Colm Murphy for Flynn (65).

Cork: Paddy O’Shea; Ray Carey, Jamie O’Sullivan, Michael Shields; Denis O’Sullivan, Paudie Kissane, Conor O’Driscoll; Alan O’Connor, Aidan Walsh; Pearse O’Neill, Paddy Kelly, Fintan Goold; Daniel Goulding, Colm O’Neill, Donncha O’Connor.

Subs used: Nicholas Murphy for A O’Connor (44 mins), Ciaran Sheehan for Goold (53), Eoin Cotter for J O’Sullivan (63 mins).

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here