Cycling Ireland Members Award winners

The 2011 Cycling Ireland Members Award winners have been announced with Limerick and Dublin-based recipients among the four categories to be honoured at Saturday’s National Awards Dinner in the Radisson Hotel Blu in Dublin.

Cycle 4 Sick Children based in Limerick has won the Club of the Year award from a shortlist of eight clubs nominated by the provincial commissions.

The club, formed just 18-months ago by Liam and Stacy Mulcahy, has already built up a national following for its community work including training the largest number of Sprocket Rocket leaders as well as tireless fundraising for worthy causes.

Volunteer of the Year is Gary McIlroy of the Usher Irish Road Club. Gary can be seen week in week out throughout the year undertaking race organisation and commissaire duties at the smallest events right up to An Post Rás.

In addition Gary has found time to sit on the Road Commission and the College of Commissaires and is the outgoing Grading Officer.

The Female Irish-based Rider of the Year is Orla Hendron of Orwell Wheelers, double medallist at the World Masters Track Championships in Manchester in October to go with some very strong performances in national level road races.

As well as her track exploits, Orla finished a fine second in the season-long Joe Daly’s Cycles Velotec Women’s National League and scooped third place in the Trek Women’s Classic League.

The Male Irish-based Rider of the Year award goes to Stephen Clancy of Limerick CC. The first year senior raced through the categories from A3 to A1, scoring a string of top results in time trials and road races throughout the year including overall victory in the Charleville 2-Day in September.

The awards will be presented during the Cycling Ireland National Awards Dinner in the Radisson Blu Hotel along with medallists in the national championships and winners of the Women’s National and Classic Leagues.

Some tickets are still available through the Cycling Ireland website until noon today (Wednesday) at the following link:

The awards dinner is the culmination of a full day of activity in the Radisson Blu Hotel which includes the Cycling Ireland Annual General Meeting starting at 11am.

All Cycling Ireland members are welcome to attend, and the clubs and commission reps get votes if they have their current Cycling Ireland membership card with them. A link outlining the number of delegate votes per club can be at: )

Two board members will be elected during the meeting from the following four nominees: Richie Byrne, John Horgan, Noel McGlynn and Anto Moran.

The Radisson Blu Hotel in Golden Lane Dublin 8 is right in the heart of the city and is accessible by car, bus, LUAS or DART. Full location details including a list of nearby car parks can be found here:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here