Dublin Defeat Meath In O’Byrne Shield Final

Pat Gilroy’s Dublin defeated old rivals Meath in the O’Byrne Shield final at Parnell Park on Saturday night.

A thrilling contest between the two Leinster heavyweights went to extra time before the Dubs emerged with bragging rights on a scoreline of 2-16 to 2-14.

Meath looked destined for a heavy defeat when Dublin led by six points with five minutes remaining, but were then awarded a penalty which Joe Sheridan converted before and an equalising point from Paddy Gilsenan forced the game into extra-time.

Dublin scored their second goal 25 seconds into extra-time, but again Meath fought back, with Sheridan hitting another three pointer for the Royals. However, Dublin proved the stronger side in the second half of extra time and added on the vital scores to see them over the line.

Scorers – Dublin: T Quinn, B Cullen 1-1 each; K McManamon, B Brogan 0-4 (4f) each; D Connolly 0-2; D Lally, G Cullen, B Cahill, P Andrews 0-1 each. Meath: J Sheridan 2-2 (1-0 pen); S O’Rourke 0-4 (1f); G Reilly 0-3; C Ward 0-2 (1f) C Gillepsie, B Farrell, P Gilsenan 0-1 each.

Dublin: S Cluxton (M Savage, 70); D Daly (J McCarthy, 67), S Murray, M Fitzsimons (A Hubbard, 55); D Lally (W Lowry, 70), G Brennan (Bastick, 88), P Casey (C McKiernan, 82); D Bastick (MD McAuley, 70), C Murphy (B Cahill, 55); D Kelly, K McManamon (B Cullen, 44), D Connolly (P Flynn, 35); B Brogan (McManamon, 86), G Cullen (A Brogan, 50), T Quinn (P Andrews, 70).

Meath: P O’Rourke; G O’Brien, K Reilly (B Meade, 35), C King; S Kenny (D Keogan, 88), B Menton, C McGuinness (C Ward, 55); M Ward (N Crawford, 42), C Gillepsie; S McAnarney (D Dalton, 79), S O’Rourke, D Morgan (G Reilly, 29); P Gilsenan (Farrell, 74), J Sheridan, B Farrell (A Moyles, 42).

Referee: S Carroll (Westmeath).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here