Dublin v Louth U21 Football preview & live scores

Cadbury’s Leinster Under 21 Football Final Preview & live score updates


Dublin 1-16 v 0-08 Louth Pairc Tailteann, Navan 7.30pm

A fascinating game in store in Navan as Louth pursue their dream of a fourth Leinster title, at this grade, and their first since 1981. Dublin seek their tenth title at this grade,with their last success being that of 2010.
There have been some surprises on the way to the final so another one cannot be ruled out though Dublin will start hot favourites to bring home the Cadbury’s Leinster Under 21 crown.
Louth have several busloads of fans travelling the short distance to Navan in addition to those travelling by car.

St Maur’s Danny Byrne replaces Conor Walsh(injured) in the centre of the park for Dublin thus will partner Emmet O’Conghaile,who has recovered from the injury sustained against Westmeath in the semi-final.
Another returning after injury is St Jude’s John Brian Carty who missed the semi-final and now resumes his place in goal,taking over from Ryan O’Flaherty. Jim Gavin will ensure that his side do not take Louth for granted even though
They had some 20+ points to spare when many of the same players met in the Leinster Minor championships of 2009.

Louth are expected to rely on the side that overcame Offaly in the semi-final.

DUBLIN (U21FC v Louth)
1 John Brian Carty St Jude’s 2 Jack Smith Skerries Harps 3 Kevin O’Brien Naoimh Mearnog 4 Michael Concarr St Vincent’s 5 John Kelly Na Fianna 6 Luke Fletcher St Maur’s 7 Jack McCaffrey Clontarf 8 Emmet O Conghaile Lucan Sarsfields 9 Daniel Byrne St Maur’s
10 Ciaran Reddin St Maur’s 11 Gary Sweeney St Sylvester’s 12 Mark Schutte Cuala 13 Ciaran Kilkenny Castleknock 14 Paul Hudson Thomas Davis 15 Philip Ryan St Brigid’s

Louth’s determination to take the title was best summed up by selector Colm Nally who told the “Dundalk Democrat”:

“Our attitude is that we haven’t brought this team to a Leinster Final, it’s that we are going to the final with this team. We are all going together, it’s a complete team effort. We’ve tried to instil a squad mentality.”
“If it’s not your night, you come off, but there’s no hard feeling. Just look at Brian Berrill two weeks ago (in the Offaly game). He came off the bench and he ended up scoring the winning point.”

“It’s not very often footballers from Louth can say they’re in a Leinster Final. It’ll be another string to their bow and please God we’ll give it a right rattle.”
One can be sure that any side managed by Colin Kelly will give of their all in pursuit of that dream fourth title.

Verdict: Dublin with O’Conghaile, Gary Sweeney and Ciarán Kilkenny leading the charge, to win by five points or so but only after a stern test in Navan.


Dublin (9) 1974, 1975, 1980, 1984, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2010
Kildare (9) 1965, 1966, 1967, 1972, 1976, 1983, 1992, 2004, 2008
Laois (8) 1964, 1969, 1982, 1987, 1994, 1998, 2006, 2007
Meath (8) 1985, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1996, 1997, 2001
Offaly (8) 1968, 1971, 1973, 1977, 1979, 1986, 1988, 1995
Louth (3) 1970, 1978, 1981
Westmeath (2) 1999, 2000
Wexford (1) 2011


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.