UL come from behind to win Fitzgibbon Cup

UL 1-17 Limerick IT 2-11

A goal after 61 minutes from Thomas O’Brien was enough to see University of Limerick claim the Ulster Bank Fitzgibbon Cup title at Waterford IT on Saturday.

Substitute O’Brien’s late winner gave UL the lead for the first time in the game, to complete a remarkable comeback for Ger Cunningham’s team who had been nine points behind at one stage.

LIT were far the stronger side in the early stages with goals from Sean Tobin and Donie Reale helping them establish a 2-7 to 0-4 lead after 23 minutes.

Their city rivals had narrowed the lead to six points by the interval, and continued where they left off after the restart with a fourth point from Galway’s David Burke drawing the match with just 40 seconds left on the clock.

Thomas O’Brien then struck to give UL the lead and LIT’s misery was compounded in injury-time by Willie Hyland’s dismissal.

David Burke won the man-of-the-match award, while UL captain Kieran Joyce received the Fitzgibbon Cup from Comhairle Ardoideachais Vice Chairman Gerry Tully.

Scorers – UL: P Cronin, D Burke (0-1f), A Quinn (0-3f) 0-4 each, P Kelly 0-3 (0-2f), T O’Brien 1-0, B Beckett, B Carroll 0-1 each

LIT: D Reale 1-1, S Tobin 1-0, J McInerney (0-3f), B Gaffney (0-3f) 0-3 each, P Browne, P O’Brien, S Collins, JB O’Halloran 0-1 each

UL: T Lowry; P Stapleton, M Walsh, S Hickey; B Bugler, PJ Delaney, K Joyce; D Burke, P Cronin; B Carroll, B Beckett, P Kelly; K Morris, P Murphy, A Quinn.

Subs used: M Boran for Murphy (26 mins), T Connors for Boran (half-time), T O’Brien for Carroll (57).

LIMERICK IT: M Ryan; E Glynn, C Cone, C Cooney; JB O’Halloran, J McInerney, J O’Keefe; S Lambert, P O’Brien; S Collins, W Hyland, P Browne; B Gaffney, S Tobin, D Reale.

Referee: Michael Wadding (Waterford).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.