GAA : Some Crazy Selections For The 2010 Football All Star Team

The 2010 Football All Stars were announced on Wednesday and as ever the final fifteen looks certain to generate much debate. Perhaps the biggest talking points this year were the failure of any Cork forward to pick up an award and the omission of long standing Limerick stalwart, John Galvin.

As All Ireland champions, the Rebels must surely have expected the nod for at least one of the six places up front. Daniel Goulding must have been in certainty by most GAA fans for a starting berth and any of the three in the Cork half forward line could have been selected. How Marty Clarke got one before them i’ll never know.

Galvin is perhaps the biggest surprise, with Louth’s Paddy Keenan selected ahead of the long serving midfielder. Galvin had an outstanding season for the Treaty side and starred against Kerry in their Munster encounter. Keenan had an excellent season and along with Brian White, was the main man in Louth’s march to a Leinter Final “victory”. However, on the balance of form and even without taking sentiment into account, Galvin was surely deserving of the accolade. He certainly receives this writers vote as the unluckiest player to miss out this season.
Kildare’s Peter Kelly had an excellent campaign and the young Newbridge man is a deserving recipiant of this first award. He was one of the Lilywhites best players all season once he was introduced midway through the campaign. Fellow Kildare man, Johnny Doyle is another well deserving of his gong, while Graham Canty gets just reward for another fine season with Cork.

Colm Cooper showed once again that he is perhaps the finest forward to play the game over the past decade, and the Crokes man is Kerry’s only winner in a disappointing season for the Kingdom.A lot of people might not be happy he was selected but he just couldnt be left out.Footballer of the Year Elect, Bernard Brogan was an automatic choice at full forward and the line is completed by Down’s Benny Coulter. Down Forward Coulter had a good year but was not sighted in the All-Ireland final and surly Donie Shine or David Kelly could of got the nod ahead of him.

Overall, the selection panel again seem to be from a different planet to most Gaa fans, with at least two or three shocking omissions.
Sportsnewsireland would love to hear fans opinions on the final fifteen. Please post your comments below
Team in full:

1 Brendan McVeigh – Down
2 Peter Kelly – Kildare
3 Michael Shields – Cork
4 Charlie Harrison – Sligo
5 Paidi Kiissane – Cork
6 Graham Canty – Cork
7 Philip Jordan – Tyrone
8 Paddy Keenan – Louth
9 Aidan Walsh – Cork
10 Daniel Hughes – Down
11 Martin Clarke – Down
12 Johnny Doyle – Kildare
13 Colm Cooper – Kerry
14. Bernard Brogan – Dublin
15. Benny Coulter – Down


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here