Ireland ‘A’ Squad to Take on Scotland

Ireland ‘A’ Head Coach Ged Corcoran has selected his 20 man squad for the opening fixture of the 2012 Amateur Four Nations against Scotland.

The Game which takes place in Malone Rugby Club in Belfast will be Corcoran’s second game in charge of the side after first taking control against America in March.

His squad includes five senior internationals four of whom were included in Mark Aston’s squad for last weekend’s game against the England Knights. Wayne Kerr, Joe Taylor, Adam Hughes and Paddy Barcoe will add much needed experience to the squad.

It will be Kerr’s first game with the ‘A’ Team since he returned from a stint at Oldham Roughyeds in 2011.

The squad also includes seven players who have been previously uncapped at this level including J.J. Baird who bagged two tries in Ulster’s victor over Leinster a few short weeks ago.

Brian Cahill, Rob Kershaw, Nick Finlay, Brendan Burke, J.J. Baird, Kenny Calladine and Rodney Bennett will all be looking to make their ‘A’ Team debut’s against the Bravehearts.

Corcoran will be keen to get his first Amateur 4 Nations off to a winning start before the team take on the Wales Dragonhearts.

Kick off on Saturday is 2pm in Gibson Park Avenue, Belfast.

Ireland ‘A’ Squad to Face Scotland:

Matty Hadden, J.J. Baird*, Rodney Bennett* (All Antrim Eels/Ulster), Graham Taylor, Kenny Calladine*, Paddy James (All Ballynahinch Rabbitohs/Ulster), Wayne Kerr (Country Cowboys/Leinster), Brian Cahill*, Brendan Burke* (Both Country Cowboys/Munster), Andy McGrory (Coventry Bears), Joe Taylor, Adam Hughes, Paddy Barcoe, Alan Trenier (All Dublin City Exiles/Leinster), Nick Finlay* (Fermanagh Redskins/Ulster), Bernard Westman (Portarlington Wolverines/Leinster), Rob Kershaw* (Rochdale Mayfield), Andy Brace, Brendan Guilfoyle, (Both Treaty City Titans/Munster), Sean Carmody (York CIty Knights)

* Denotes Uncapped player


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here