Ireland share World Cricket award

Cricket Scotland took the top prize of the Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards 2010, claiming the Best Overall Cricket Development Programme, with Cricket Ireland and France Cricket also winning awards.

The Associate nation claiming the Best Overall Cricket Development Programme throughout development in all aspects of the game in junior cricket, women’s cricket, new strategies and creating new pathways into the sport.

Cricket Ireland was jointly awarded Best Promotion and Marketing Programme, alongside Cricket PNG, for the promotional activity prior to an ODI against Australia with both sets of teams heading to Croke Park and trying their hands at hurling.

Neil Saint, of France Cricket, has been honoured with the Volunteer of the Year Award for his dedication and contribution to cricket in France in 2010. Including his contribution in achieving cricket on the school curriculum and tirelessly working to improve the development of cricket in France.

This year’s judging panel featured current ICC President Sharad Pawar, alongside former ICC presidents David Morgan, Ehsan Mani and Malcolm Gray. Keith Bradshaw, the Secretary and Chief Executive of Marylebone Cricket Club, completed the line-up.

ICC Acting Global Development Tim Anderson said of this year’s awards: “It’s great to again see such outstanding initiatives and people leading the development of our Great Sport around the world. They deserve this recognition.

“Congratulations to all the award winners, and to those who were not successful this time around, your continued dedication to cricket’s growth is really making a positive difference.”

ICC Regional Development Manager, Europe, Richard Holdsworth is delighted by Europe’s recognition in the Global Development Awards: ” It is great to see Cricket Scotland recognised in the top category after a fantastic year in developing all aspects of the game.

“Also, congratulations to Neil Saint and Cricket Ireland for their fantastic achievements in the Volunteer of the Year and Best Cricket Promotion and Marketing Programme categories.”

The other winners came from Japan Cricket Association for Best Women’s Cricket Initiative, Best Junior Participation and jointly awarded Best Cricket Promotion and Marketing programme to Cricket PNG, Suriname Cricket Association won Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative. Fiona Holmes of Bermuda Cricket Board won Photo of the Year and Mazhar Khan of UAE won the Lifetime Service Award.

The 2010 winners:

Best Overall Cricket Development Programme – Cricket Scotland

Best Women’s Cricket Initiative – Japan Cricket Association

Best Junior Participation Initiative – Cricket PNG

Best Cricket Promotion and Marketing Programme – Cricket PNG and Cricket Ireland

Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative – Suriname Cricket Association

Photo of the Year – Bermuda Cricket Board (Fiona Holmes)

Volunteer of the Year – Neil Saint (France)

Lifetime Service Award – Mazhar Khan (UAE)

Prizes – the national cricket bodies of all global winners receive a US$2,000 cricket equipment grant.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here