Mayo Easily Beat Leitrim

Mayo 1-11 Leitrim 0-2

Mayo easily overcame Leitrim in the FBD League at Ballinamore on Sunday afternoon.

Mark Ronaldson was the star man for Mayo for the second week in a row. The forward scored seven points over the sixty minutes and has almost certainly secured his place in the starting line up for next weekend’s league action. Aidan Campbell is another who is looking to force his way into the side following his return to the county side and he kicked two early scores here.

Austin O’Malley was another player hoping to force his way back into James Horan’s plans and did his bit over the hour.At midfield Ballintubber’s Jason Gibbons and Burrishoole’s James Moran were always in control of their sector, with the former being particularly impressive. In defence, Ger Cafferkey stood out at centre back and will get further opportunities this season. In the full back line, the Feeney brothers Richie and Alan lined up alongside Ballintubber’s Cathal Haling. All three played well but in truth they faced little threat.

In what was a poor game, Mayo managed to hold Leitrim to two points in the sity minutes. A point in each half was all they could manage. A fifth minute point from Brian McDonald was their sole score in the opening half and it was not until two minutes from time before sub Colm Maguire got their other score.

Mayo led by 0-8 to 0-1 at half time. Mark Ronaldson scored six points in the opening half, with Aidan Campbell adding the other two. The second half was very poor with Mayo only managing to add a further 1-3 to Leitrims sole point. The goal came right at the end of the game, with Aidan Kilcoyne finishing to the net after some good approach work.

Mayo: K O’Malley; C Hallinan, A Feeney, R Feeney; C Barrett, G Cafferkey, J Burke; J Gibbons, J Moran; A Campbell (0-2,1f), A O’Malley, A Moran (0-2); A Kilcoyne (1-0), A Freeman, M Ronaldson (0-7,2f). Subs: C Naughton, T Cunniffe, K McLoughlin, J McAndrew, M Nestor

Leitrim: C McCrann; D Beck, R Gallagher, B McWeeney; G Reynolds, J McKeon, B Prior; T Beirne, D Sweeney; P Brennan, C Clarke, W McKeon; B McDonald (0-1), J Glancy (Glencar), C Kelly. Subs: C Maguire (0-1), C Sheridan, C Egan, P McGowan, J Glancy (St Mary’s)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.