Mayo easily beat NUIG to win FBD League Final

Mayo 1-14 0-11 NUIG – FBD League Final, McHale Park Result (Throw-In 7.30 pm)

Mayo claimed the FBD League title in McHale Park on Friday night when they saw off an early challenge from NUIG by six points.

The home side were always in control once Aidan Kilcoyne hit the only goal of the game early in the second half. Although it may not have been the greatest game of football played this year it gave new Mayo boss James Horan the chance to get a look at some fringe players. Robert Hennelly was calm and composed in goal under a couple of dropping balls and distributed the ball well. Aidan Kilcoyne impressed taking the goal well and scoring two good points. Jason Gibbons also played well at midfield as he continues to adapt to inter county football. Gibbons and Ronan McGarrity were added to the lineup when Barry Moran was ruled out through injury and Tom Parsons was forced to withdrawal.

The teams went in at the break level at seven points each after a Mark Ronaldson score brought Mayo level. At that stage Mayo had lost Enda Varley through injury. He was replaced by Cathal Freeman. The college side got off to a great start and led by 0-5 to 0-2 after 12 minutes. Peadar Gardiner opened the scoring with a fine point. He drove downfield before pointing on the run. Aidan Kilcoyne leveled it up on three minutes from close range. Denis Coroon and Mark Ronaldson exchanged points to leave it two points each after seven minutes. NUIG then hit a purple patch with Aidan Mullin, Stephen Gilmartin and Jason Doherty putting them three points ahead.

Mayo improved soon after and two points from Andy Moran either side of a Ronaldson point from a free had them level on 19 minutes. For the remainder of the half the sides swapped points with Jason Doherty kicking two points from free. Enda Varley kicked a great score before he was forced off and Ronaldson leveled the game two minutes before the break.

The home side stepped up a extra gear after the restart and kicked 1-3 in the space of three minutes. Ronaldson knocked over a free from close range and it was quickly followed by a long point from Aidan Kilcoyne. A few seconds later the same player raced onto a pass from Jason Gibbons and drove the ball to the back of the net. Mayo were now in complete control and Andrew Farrell pointed to leave it 1-10 to 0-7 after 39 minutes. With 52 minutes played the college side had cut the lead to four points with Doherty landing two more pointed frees and Ronaldson scoring from another dead ball for Mayo. Ronaldson and Aidan Campbell kicked frees for Mayo and Aidan Kilcoyne landed a 45′ in jury time to wrap up Mayo’s scoring. Doherty kicked another score for NUIG from a free and Peader Gardiner added a point near the death to complete the scoring.

Mayo: R Hennelly; C Hallinan, D Killeen, C Barrett; L Keegan, K Higgins, R O’Connor; J Gibbons, R McGarrity; A Campbell (0-1, 1f), A Moran (0-2), A Farrell (0-1) ; E Varley (0-1), A Kilcoyne (1-3,1f 1 45′), M Ronaldson (0-6, 6f). Subs: C Freeman for E Varley, J Moran for R McGarrity, A Feeney for C Hallinan, J Burke for R O’Connor, R Feeney for L Keegan

NUIG: N King; C McDonald, K O’Connor, R Rochford; P Gardiner (0-2), C Conroy, J Moore; S Gilmartin (0-1), D Coroon (0-1); M McHugh, G Higgins, A Dillon; N Douglas, A Mullin (0-1), J Doherty (0-6,6f). Subs: S McHale for K O’Connor, F Deasmhunhaigh for M McHugh, K Conlan (Leitrim) for G Higins, K Conlan (Galway) for C Conroy, G McDonnagh for A Mullin.

Match Tracker
60min Aidan Kilcoyne ’45 leaves it 1-14 to 0-11.
58min Points from both sides, leaves Mayo five going into injury time.
57min Mark Ronaldson free for Mayo gives them a six point lead.
51min Jason Doherty free gets the students back within five points.
48min Teams exchange points, Mark Ronaldson gets Mayo’s score.
45min Andrew Farrell gives Mayo a six point lead.
41min Aidan Kilcoyne scores a goal to leave it 1-9 to 0-7 in favour of Mayo.
39min Two quick points from Mayo give them a two point lead.
31min James Moran replaces Ronan McGarrity.
28min Mark Ronaldson free for Mayo levels the match for the fifth time.
27min Jason Doherty gives the students back the lead.
24min Enda Varley levels it up after some good play.
23min Jason Doherty gives the students back the lead.
21min Andy Moran levels it up for James Horan Mayo team.
18min Mark Ronaldson free gets Mayo back within a point.
16min Andy Moran gets Mayo’s first point in 8min to leave it 0-03 to 0-05.
14min The students push their lead out to three points.
12min Two quick points for NUIG, one from captain Stephen Gilmartin leaves the students two points up.
8min Mark Ronaldson free levels it up at two points a piece.
6min Nice point gives the students back the lead.
4min Aidan Kilcoyne levels the match for Mayo.
2min Peadar Gardiner gives NUIG an early lead.

Team News
Mayo (FBD Final v NUIG): Robert Hennelly (Breaffy); Cathal Hallinan (Ballintubber), David Killeen (Ballinrobe), Chris Barrett (Belmullet); Lee Keegan (Westport), Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis), Ruaidhri O’Connor (Ballintubber); Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels), Tom Parsons (Charlestown); Aidan Campbell (Swinford), Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen – captain), Andrew Farrell (Killala); Enda Varley (Garrymore), Aidian Kilcoyne (Knockmore), Mark Ronaldson (Shrule-Glencorrib). Subs: Kenneth O’Malley (Ballinrobe), Alan Feeney (Castlebar Mitchels), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), Eoghan Reilly (Castlebar Mitchels), Richie Feeney (Castlebar Mitchels), James Burke (Ballymun Kickhams, Dublin), Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber), James Moran (Burrishoole), Cathal Freeman (Aghamore), Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber).

NUIG (FBD Final v Mayo): Nathan King (Galway); Ciaran McDonald (Tipperary), Kieran O Connor (Kerry), Ronan Rochford (Mayo); Peadar Gardiner (Mayo), Ciaran Conroy (Mayo), Josh Moore (Galway); Stephen Gilmartin (Sligo – captain), Denis Coroon (Westmeath); Mark McHugh (Donegal), Alan Dillon (Mayo), Aidan Mullin (Derry); Neil Douglas (Mayo), Greg Higgins (Galway), Jason Doherty (Mayo). Subs: Shane McHale (Mayo), Fiachra Deasmhunhaigh (Cork), Declan Gavigan (Donegal), Keith Rodgers (Mayo), Kevin Conlan (Leitrim), Kevin Conlon (Galway), Ger McDonagh (Mayo), Donal Newcombe (Mayo), Sean McWeeney (Leitrim), Conor O Halloran (Galway), Paul Gleeson (Roscommon), Cian Mimnagh (Longford), David Wynne (Galway).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here