Meath beat Dublin after extra time

Leinster and All-Ireland U-21 champions Dublin were beaten by arch rivals Meath following a classic encounter at Pairc Tailteann last night.

It took 80 minutes to separate the two teams after the Dubs looked to have done enough after overcoming a shaky start to lead by two points with a minute of normal time remaining.

Meath substitute Andrew Tormey narrowed the gap, before Michael Newman scored his seventh point of the match to force the game to extra-time.

The home side dominated the extra 20 minutes, with subs Sean Dalton, Shane Gillespie and Tormey all hitting scores as they went five up at one stage.

Meath dominated the game in the early stages and were four points up after six minutes. Dublin gradually worked their way back into contention and trailed by just two at the end of the first quarter.

Dublin were unlucky when Philip Ryan fired a great shot to the Meath net, only to be called back for an earlier foul by a Meath defender.

With Newman their star man, scoring four first-half points, Meath led 0-10 to 0-5 at half time.

Dublin were depending on Dean Rock from frees and the Ballymun Kickhams man dragged them back into contention with some fine scores.

Substitute Paul Hudson hit two points as Dublin drew level after 54 minutes and points from Darragh Nelson and Kevin O’Brien eventually put them two clear.

Meath battled back and led 0-18 to 0-16 at the end of the first period of extra-time.

There was no way back for Dublin after that as Meath won in convincing style.

Scorers – Meath: M Newman 0-7 (5f), D Smyth 0-4, S Dalton, P Gilsenan (1f) 0-2 each, A Tormey, B Menton, M Battersby, W Carry, C Lenehan, S Gillespie 0-1 each. Dublin: D Rock 0-7 (6f), P Hudson 0-3, G Seaver 0-2, C Dorney, D Nelson, K O’Brien, P Ryan, H Dawson 0-1 each.

Meath – C McHugh; C McPartland, S Curran, W Ryan; D Keoghan, C Lenehan, M O’Sullivan; B Menton, J Owens; P Gilsenan, D Smyth, D Larkin; M Battersby, N Murphy, M Newman. Subs: S Dalton for Larkin (39), A Tormey for Murphy (44), S Gillespie for Battersby (54), W Carry for Owens (54), E Murray for Gilsenan (e/t), N Judge for Smyth (e/t), S Tobin for Menton (e/t).

Dublin – R O’Flaherty; K O’Brien, J McCarthy, D Nelson, G Seaver, S Murray, G McArdle; D Murphy, C Reddin; C Dorney, D Rock, G Sweeney; P Ryan, G McIntyre, D Stapleton. Subs: M Concar for McArdle (24), H Dawson for McIntyre (26), E Keogh for Murphy (37), P Hudson for Stapleton (37), P Houlihan for Ryan (60), P Keaney for Reddin (e/t), A McCarrick for Concar (e/t), McIntyre for Rock (e/t).

Ref – D Brazil (Offaly).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here