Munster Exit Heineken Cup

Munster were well beaten by Toulon in their Heineken Cup clash at Stade Mayol this afternoon. The result all but ends the Irish provinces interest in the cup for this season.

The game was effectively over by half-time, with the French side leading by 26 points to 9.Christian Loamanu and Paul Sackey scored tries for the home side, while Johnny Wilkinson hit four penalties and two conversions. All Munster could manage were three penalties from Ronan O’Gara in a game they could never get to grips with.

Donncha O’Callaghan was sinbinned in the 33rd minute for a dangerous tackle and down to 14 players, Munster were always struggling to get back into the game. Although the second half was much tamer, Toulon continued to dominate and ran out easy winners at the finish.

Ronan O’Gara andJohnny Wilkinson swapped early second half penalties before O’Gara was also sin-binned. The out-half looked unfortunate to be sent to the line.

Wilkinson added a further penalty for Toulon and at that point the game was all but concluded. David Wallace scored a late consolation try for Munster, which O’Gara converted.

Toulon 32-16 Munster: Stade Felix RESULT
78min (M) O’Gara conversion
77min (M) Wallace try
59min (T) Wilkinson – penalty goal
44min (T) Wilkinson – conversion
40min (M) O’Gara – penalty goal
38min (T) Wilkinson – conversion
37min (T) Sackey – try
34min (T) Wilkinson Penalty
25min (M) Ronan O’Gara Penalty
23min (T) Wilkinson – conversion
22min (T) Loamanu – try
16min (T) Wilkinson Penalty
14min (T) Wilkinson Penalty
8min (T) Wilkinson Penalty
2min (M) Ronan O’Gara Penalty

Team News
Toulon: R Wulf, P Sackey, G Lovobalavu, F Contepomi, C Loamanu, J Wilkinson, P Mignoni, L Emmanuelli, S Bruno, D Kubriashvili, C Samson, D Schofield, J Fernandez Lobbe, G Smith, J van Niekerk.

Replacements: J C Orioli, S Taumoepeau, M Merabet, J El Abd, F Auelua, R Lamont, L Magnaval, K Chesney

Munster: P Warwick; D Howlett, K Earls, S Tuitupou, J Murphy; R O’Gara, P Stringer; W du Preez, D Varley, J Hayes; D O’Callaghan, P O’Connell; J Coughlan, D Wallace, D Leamy.

Replacements: M Sherry, D Hurley, T Buckley, M O’Driscoll, D Ryan, N Ronan, T O’Leary, L Mafi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.