Munster ring in the changes for Edinburgh clash

Munster coach Tony McGahan makes nine changes to the Munster starting XV from last weekend’s loss in Treviso for Friday’s Magners League clash with Edinburgh at Thomond Park Stadium (7.50pm).
Four retain their positions, Doug Howlett, Damian Varley, Tommy O’Donnell and James Coughlan with Lifeimi Mafi switching to outside centre to accommodate the move of Paul Warwick to inside centre from out-half where he played in Treviso.
Ronan O’Gara returns to the side as do Peter Stringer and Denis Leamy, who will captain the side, while Mick O’Driscoll partners Donnacha Ryan in the second-row and Coughlan and O’Donnell retain their places in the back row having impressed against Treviso.
Edinburgh who named their side yesterday, travel with a strong outfit that includes the Magners current leading try scorer Tim Visser and current Scotland squad members lock Scott MacLeod and number 8 Ross Rennie.
Tickets for the game will be available to purchase at Thomond Park Stadium on the night.

Munster: J Murphy, D Howlett, L Mafi, P Warwick, D Hurley, R O’Gara, P Stringer, W du Preez, D Varley, T Buckley, D Ryan, M O’Driscoll, D Leamy capt, T O’Donnell, J Coughlan. Replacements: D Fogarty, M Horan, S Archer, I Nagle, B Holland, D Williams, T Gleeson, S Zebo.

Edinburgh: C Paterson, L Jones, B Cairns, J King, T Visser, D Blair, G Laidlaw capt, K Traynor, A Kelly, G Cross, S MacLeod, S Turnbull, F McKenzie, N Tatel, R Rennie. Replacements: A Walker, L Niven, D Young, A MacDonald, R Grant, N de Luca, S Webster, J Thompson.

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here