Murphy try gives Connacht win over Scarlets

Connacht 17-13 Scarlets Result

Connacht beat the Scarlets at the Sportsground in Galway tonight to earn their first Magners League win since September 2010.

Ian Keatley and Frank Murphy were responsible for all of the home sides points, Murphy’s 13th-minute try helping his side lead 8-3 at half-time. Gareth Maule scored from Scarlets first attack of the second half.

The opening half was very poor fare and the strong wind didn’t allow for expansive play. In the 13th minute, Frank Murphy and Keatley linked up with the former taking the return pass and getting past Regan King and Martin Roberts to score in the corner. Keatley’s missed conversion was followed by Dan Newton’s opening penalty, six minutes later. The out-half scored from in front of the posts after a ruck infringement from Mike McCarthy.

In injury-time, some strong play from Murphy and Mike McComish forced the Scarlets to give away a penalty, and Keatley scored from outside the 22 for an 8-3 lead.

The second half was only 54 seconds old when King passed for winger Maule to glide in at the left corner for a Scarlets try. Newton added the conversion and suddenly Connacht were facing a fight. However, indiscipline set in for the visitors and Keatley knocked over two successful penalties from three attempts on goal.

Connacht secured the points when Keatley added his fourth penalty, before Newton converted a similar score for the visitors.

77min (S) Dan Newton Penalty
75min (C) Ian Keatley Penalty
55min (C) Ian Keatley Missed Penalty
50min (C) Ian Keatley Penalty
46min (C) Ian Keatley Penalty
43min (S) Dan Newton Conversion
42min (S) Gareth Maule Try
40min (C) Ian Keatley Penalty
18min (S) Dan Newton Penalty
14min (C) Ian Keatley Missed Conversion
13min (C) Frank Murphy Try

Team News
Connacht: Gavin Duffy; Brian Tuohy, Niva Ta’auso, Troy Nathan, Fionn Carr; Ian Keatley, Frank Murphy; Brett Wilkinson, Adrian Flavin, Jamie Hagan, Michael Swift, Mike McCarthy, Andrew Browne, Johnny O’Connor (capt), Mike McComish.
Replacements: Dermot Murphy, Dylan Rogers, Rodney Ah You, Bernie Upton, Ray Ofisa, Cillian Willis, Mia Nikora, Shane Monahan.

Scarlets: Daniel Evans; Darren Daniel, Regan King, Scott Williams, Gareth Maule; Dan Newton, Martin Roberts; Iestyn Thomas (capt), Emyr Phillips, Rhys Thomas, Vernon Cooper, Lou Reed, Rob McCusker, Johnathan Edwards, Ben Morgan.
Replacements: Rhys Lawrence, Simon Gardiner, Owen Evans, Jonny Fa’amatuainu, Nick Cudd, Gareth Davies, Owen Williams, Nick Reynolds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here