St Kieran’s continue run to Leinster title

Leinster Colleges SHC A Quarter-Final: St Kieran’s, Kilkenny 4-13 Dublin South 1-6

The current All Ireland colleges champions St Kieran’s, Kilkenny, ran out 16-point winners over Dublin South at Dr Cullen Park, Carlow yesterday.

Thomas O’Hanrahan was the star player for the Kilkenny side hitting a hat-trick of goals. O’Hanrahan, one of four players who won All-Ireland minor hurling medals with Kilkenny last year, found the net in the 3rd, 10th and 25th minutes as his side went into a 3-3 to 0-3 lead.

Jack Nolan blasted a fourth goal after 28 minutes and the game was over as a contest before it even reached the half time break. It stood at 4-5 to 0-5 as the two sides headed for their respective dressing rooms.

Dublin’s Naoise Greene scored a goal soon after the restart but St Kieran’s replied with a succession of points and Dublin could not get another shot on target until Brian McCarthy’s point with almost the final puck of the game.

ST KIERAN’S: S Johnson; L Hickey, C O’Neill, R O’Hanrahan; H O’Neill (0-1), W Phelan (0-1, free), P O’Carroll; P Butler, C O’Shea; J Power (0-6, four frees, one 65, K Phelan (0-2), A Cleere; J Nolan (1-0), M Brennan (0-2), T O’Hanrahan (3-0). Subs: R Reid for T O’Hanrahan (45 mins), P Kenneally for Cleere (45 mins), D Cody (0-1) for Reid (55 mins), M Donnelly for Nolan (55 mins), G Allen for O’Neill (58 mins).

DUBLIN SOUTH: G Harrington; D Mulligan, F O’Donoghue, J Barnes; D Butler, T Devlin, B Errity; G Whelan (0-1), B McCarthy (0-5, four frees), C Devins, K McMahon, K Russell; N Greene (1-0), S Harrington, E Prendergast. Subs: K Ward for S Harrington (36 mins), A Jermyn for Devins (38 mins), K Kelly for Prendergast (45 mins), N Salvino for Russell (56 mins).

Referee : P Kehoe (Carlow).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here