Terenure beat Gonzaga in Leinster Senior Cup Rugby

Terenure College 17 Gonzaga College 3

Gonzaga started this Leinster Senior Cup game the better and were well on top for the opening six minutes. Having all the possession, they attacked Terenure at will and looked like they were going to make life very difficult for their opponents.

However, the hosts struck without warning, grabbing two quick tries in an eight minute period that rocked Gonzaga and virtually ended this game as a contest. The visitors lost their confidence soon after and were a pale shadow of the fifteen that had started this game only 14 minutes earlier.

Outhalf Conor McKeon gave Gonzaga the lead after six minutes, kicking a penalty,but remarkably this was to be his sides only score of the game. Terenure hit back almost from the restart with Danny McCormack crossing the try line to put the home side into the lead for the first time.

A Gonzaga turnover then saw Terenure counter-attack and winger Seanie O’Loughlin sprinted over at the corner to put this game out of the visitors grasp with little more than quarter of an hour played.

McCormack added Terenure’s third try with Ryan Roopnarinesingh kicking the conversion to leave the score at 17-3. Gonzaga tried hard in the final minutes and were camped in the Terenure half of the field but they couldn’t add to their early score and the home side eventually ran the clock down to record a comfortable victory.

SCORES – 6 mins: C McKeon pen, 0-3; 7: D McCormack try, 5-3; 14: S O’Loughlin try, 10-3; 27: D McCormack try, 15-3; R Roopnarinesingh conv, 17-3.

TERENURE COLLEGE: R Roopnarinesingh; S O’Loughlin, C Quigley, D Olin, P Smith; D McCormack, R Barry; P O’Reilly, J Carroll, S Borza; R Malone, R Somerville; B Twomey, N Lalor, G Furlong. Replacements: C Owens for S Borza (53 mins), J Kirwan for R Malone, E Kelly for B Twomey (both 59 mins), D Hynes for J Carroll, R Rumley for R Barry, C Jones for D McCormack, R Manning for P Smith (all 70 mins).

GONZAGA COLLEGE: J Fitzpatrick; R Lenehan, S Murphy, C O’Brolchain, B Daly; C McKeon, A McEvoy; M Lowe, C McDowell, J McDowell; M Lenahan, H Mays; J Curtin, A O’Reilly, A Deeney. Replacements: A Clarke for A O’Reilly, P Hollywood for C McKeon (both 59 mins), N McNelis for C McDowell, C Costigan for J McDowell, R Byrne for M Lowe, D Lavelle for A McEvoy, R Cooke for R Lenehan (all 70 mins).

Referee: P Dennehy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.