Tyrone pick up first win of league

Tyrone picked up their first league points of the campaign with an impressive defeat of Sligo at Markievicz Park this afternoon.

Sean Cavanagh and Stephen O’Neill were back to their brilliant best and hit a number of second-half scores, with Cavanagh contributing 1-5 of his sides total.

The win lifted Tyrone off the foot of the table, but Sligo look in serious trouble and are looking for their first win of the season.

Tyrone played with the wind in the first half, and eased went ahead with points from Owen Mulligan and Martin Penrose. Mark Breheny got Sligo off the mark in the fourth minute, and Adrian Marron added another soon after.

Tyrone scored a goal in the 10th minute, thanks to Enda McGinley after the Sligo defence failed to clear.

Sligo responded positively, with scores from Marron and Breheny. Tyrone shipped a double blow in the 17th minute when Conor Gormley picked up a second yellow card, and McGinley was forced off by injury.

However, they extended their lead to three when Penrose and Sean Cavanagh both converted frees. Numerical parity was restored on 28 minutes when Breheny was sent off on a second yellow card. Niall McKenna scored a late point to send Tyrone in with a 1-6 to 0-5 interval lead.

The red hands made a flying start to the second half, Stephen O’Neill scoring with his first touch, before Sean Cavanagh extended the lead to six.

Sligo goalkeeper Philip Greene kept his side in the game with a double save from Cavanagh and O’Neill, and the home side cut into the lead with two Marron points and scores from Alan Costello and Francis Quinn.

Sean Cavanagh and O’Neill added further points for Tyrone and they were soon out of sight. O’Neill passed for Brian McGuigan to feed Cavanagh to fire home Tyrone’s second goal, which wrapped up the points

Sligo: P Greene, C Harrison, B Kennedy, R Donovan, K Cawley, B Egan, P McGovern, T Taylor, S Davey (0-2), A Costello (0-1), E O’Hara, M Breheny (0-2, 1F), A Marren (0-7, 4f), F Quinn (0-2), S Coen (0-1).

Subs: B Curran for Cawley, N Ewing for Egan, P Hughes for Costello

Tyrone: J Curran, A McCrory, D McCaul, PJ Quinn, D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin, K Hughes, C Cavanagh, P Harte, B McGuigan (0-1), M Penrose (0-4, 2f), O Mulligan (0-1), S Cavanagh (1-5, 0-3f), E McGinley (1-0).

Subs: N McKenna (0-1) for McGinley, S O’Neill (0-3) for Mulligan, A Cassidy for A Cavanagh, C McCarron for McCaul, M Swift for P Harte.

Referee: J McQuillan (Cavan).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.