UEFA Team of the Year announced

Click here for the latest odds to win the Champions league from Betfair

The UEFA.com users’ 2011 team of the year was announced today, with five players from the all-conquering Champions League winners Barcelona being named.

Spain’s big two dominated the selections. Barcelona are represented by Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Xavi, Andres Iniesta and Lionel Messi, who won his third successive World Player of the Year earlier in the month.

Real Madrid’s Iker Casillas, Marcelo and Cristiano Ronaldo also made the team.

The only Premier League player in the XI is Tottenham Hostpurs winger Gareth Bale, whose brilliant performances against Inter Milan in the Champions League last season enamoured him to UEFA fans.

Bayern Munich winger Arjen Robben and AC Milan central defender Thiago Silva also made the team, with Pep Guardiola named as coach.

Xavi received most votes and was also named team captain. The player will receive €100,000, which he will donate to the International Committee of the Red Cross.

The team was chosen by approximately 380,000 UEFA.com users, with 4.5m total votes being cast.

UEFA.com Team of the Year:

GK: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
DR: Dani Alves (Barcelona)
DC: Gerard Pique (Barcelona)
DC: Thiago Silva (AC Milan)
DL: Marcelo (Real Madrid)
MR: Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich)
MC: (C) Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona)
MC: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
ML: Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)
ST: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
ST: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Coach: Josep Guardiola (Barcelona)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.