Wales name squad for Rugby World Cup

Sam Warburton looks likely to be Wales’ youngest ever Rugby World Cup captain after being named to skipper the 30-man squad in New Zealand next month.

The Cardiff Blues player will lead the Welsh as regular captain Matthew Rees misses the tournament because of a neck injury.

“I am delighted. To be a World Cup captain is one of the biggest achievements a rugby player could achieve,” he said.

“It’s my first World Cup, so it will be new to me. It is going to be a positive camp to be around. We are in a good place at the moment.”

Wales: Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Lloyd Burns (Newport Gwent Dragons), Huw Bennett (Ospreys), Ryan Bevington (Ospreys), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Paul James (Ospreys), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Craig Mitchell (Exeter), Bradley Davies (Cardiff Blues), Sam Warburton (captain, Cardiff Blues), Luke Charteris (Newport Gwent Dragons), Danny Lydiate (Newport Gwent Dragons), Toby Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ryan Jones (Ospreys), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Andy Powell (Sale Sharks), Michael Phillips (Bayonne), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Tavis Knoyle (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues), James Hook (Perpignan), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), Lee Byrne (Clermont Auvergne), Aled Brew (Newport Gwent Dragons), Shane Williams (Ospreys), George North (Scarlets)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.