Wales name team for Wallabies rematch

Wales coach Warren Gatland has made several changes to his side for the game against Australia this Saturday.

Gatland has made six changes in all from the starting fifteen that took to the field to take on Australia in their World Cup Bronze final. The big news is that captain Sam Warburton returns to the side following that infamous incident during the semi-final against France.

There are also starts for centre Scott Williams, half-backs Rhys Priestland and Lloyd Williams, plus prop Scott Andrews and lock Ian Evans.

Injuries have sidelined centre Jonathan Davies, props Adam Jones and Paul James and lock Alun Wyn-Jones, while half-backs James Hook and Mike Phillips are unavailable because of commitments with their respective French clubs Perpignan and Bayonne. The selection is highlighted by wing Shane Williams making his 87th and final Wales appearance.

Williams will retire at the end of the game and he will hope to add to his 57 tries for his country during what will be an emotional game for him and the nation following the death of Gary Speed. The Welsh rugby association have yet to announce details of tributes before the game to the late Speed where so many of his best moments came in a red jersey.

Gatland commented on Williams’ career and said how much they would miss him but admitted it is now time for younger players to come through.
“It does not often happen in professional sport that a player gets the opportunity to call time on his international career, then play one last match like this one in front of his home fans and the people he has given so much joy and entertainment to,” Gatland said. “Saturday is a great opportunity for the fans to show Shane what he has meant to them and we all hope to send him off on the right note.”

L Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues); G North (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets), J Roberts (Cardiff Blues), Shane Williams (Ospreys); R Priestland (Scarlets), L Williams (Cardiff Blues); G Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), H Bennett (Ospreys), S Andrews (Cardiff Blues), B Davies (Cardiff Blues), I Evans (Ospreys), D Lydiate (Newport Gwent Dragons), S Warburton (Cardiff Blues, capt), T Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons)

Replacements: M Rees (Scarlets), R Bevington (Ospreys), R Jones (Ospreys), J Tipuric (Ospreys), T Knoyle (Scarlets), D Biggar (Ospreys), A Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.