Wins for Ard Scoil Ris & Our Lady’s Templemore In Harty Cup

Harty Cup holders, Ard Scoil Rís beat Thurles CBS 1-19 to 1-10 in yesterday’s quarter-final at Seán Treacy Park in Tipperary town.

Centre forward Shane Dowling scored 0-9 and John Fitzgibbon weighed in with 1-2 for the winners.

Ard Scoil Rís led at the interval by 1-10 to 0-6, and by 1-18 to 0-9 with six minutes remaining, before Thurles substitute Kevin Slattery scored a goal to put some gloss on the scoreboard.

Ard Scoil Rís’ Mark Ryan and Thurles’ Michael O’Brien were red-carded following a mass brawl.

ÁRD SCOIL RÍS: PJ Hall; K Lynch, B O’Connell, M Moroney; A Dempsey, D Hannon (0-1, free), D Moloney; J Shanahan (0-2), M Ryan; M Carmody (0-1), S Dowling (0-9, six frees), B O’Connor (0-1); K O’Brien (0-1), O Hickey (0-2), J Fitzgibbon (1-2). Subs: C Lynch for O’Brien (43 mins), C Keogh for Moloney (47 mins), J Kelliher for O’Connor ( 49 mins), F Carey for Lunch (53 mins), J Hannon for Hickey (54 mins).

THURLES CBS: J Maher; S Kennedy, J Ryan, J Bourke; C Quirke, J Meagher (0-1), J Stapleton; S Maher, S Cahill; P Ralph (0-1), M Sadlier (0-1), D Burke (0-1); M O’Brien, A McCormack (0-6, frees), C Hammersley. Subs: E Moriarty for Cahill (47 mins), K Slattery (1-0) for Burke (41 mins), M Cussen for Stapleton (57 mins), M Lanigan for Hammersley (58 mins).

Referee: D Copps (Cork).

Our Lady’s Templemore 1-16

Charleville CBS 0-6

OUR Lady’s Templemore proved far too strong for Midleton CBS in yesterday’s Harty Cup quarter-final replay to win by 1-16 to 0-6.

The winners now face a date with Charleville CBS in the semi-finals


Templemore led by 1-7 to 0-5 at the break and held Midleton to a single point in the second half, while adding on nine of their own.

Jason Bergin scored the goal in the eighth minute after Midleton goalkeeper William McCarthy had saved from Jason Hassett.

McCarthy pulled off a string of saves, including a penalty block from Liam McGrath as the ball was deflected over the crossbar.

OUR LADY’S TEMPLEMORE : P Guerins; J Nyland, K Kennedy, T Meade; L Mullally, T Hamill, J Moloney; L Treacy (0-1), C O’Riordan (0-1); L McGrath (0-6, five frees, 0-1 pen), S Hassett (0-2), J McGrath (0-2); M Kelly (0-3), J Bergin (1-1), O Ryan. Subs: B Kennedy for Mullally (57 mins), P Meade for Ryan (58 mins), D Donnelly for T Meade (60+1 mins), A O’Riordan for Hassett (60+2 mins), M Hogan for Kelly (60+2 mins).

MIDLETON CBS : W McCarthy; D O’Brien, K Burke, N O’Regan; A Gosnell, L Coughlan, I Kennefick, D Cahill, C Walsh; D Walsh, B Lawton (0-3, one free), C Lehane (0-3, two frees); D Morrissey, M Hennessy, P White. Subs: W Leahy for White (37 mins), D Dineen for Hennessy (58 mins).

Referee: S Hourigan (Limerick).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.