HomeRugbyWales call up two players to Six Nations Squad

Wales call up two players to Six Nations Squad

Wales boss Wayne Pivac has called up two players to his Six Nations squad to play Ireland this weekend. He has called up uncapped players Dewi Lake and Taine Basham. According to RTE Sport the Wales U20 internationals have been training with the squad in recent weeks.

No players have been dropped from the squad to allow both players into the side. Lake currently plays with Ospreys, while Basham plays with the Dragons. Pivac incidentally selected a squad of 38 players before the commencement of the Six Nations. However, due to injuries sustained for one reason or another, Pivac has felt it was time to bring in some cover. Owen Lane was released from the squad last month with a hamstring injury, while his Cardiff team mate Josh Navidi is out but is still in the squad, as is Liam Williams.

Wales though will be boosted this weekend with the likely return of Elliott Dee, Owen Watkin and Gareth Davies. These have all resumed training and will certainly be giving Pivac a selection headache ahead of the game.

The Wales team has since been announced with just one change from the starting team that hammered Italy last weekend. Nick Tompkins comes into centre, where he will partner Hadleigh Parkes. In the front row Wyn Jones, Ken Owens and Dillion Lewis are all selected. Alun Wyn Jones will partner Jake Ball in the second row. In the back row Aaron Wainwright, Justin Tipuric and Taulape Faletau are selected. Leigh Halfpenny is at full back, with George North and Josh Adams on the wings. Dan Biggar is at fly half along with Tomos Williams at scrum half.

The Ireland squad was named earlier this week by Andy Farrell which sees two changes. Peter O’Mahony comes into the side to replace Caelan Dorris, while Robbie Henshaw replaces the injured Garry Ringrose.

Wales Six Nations team to play Ireland

15. Leigh Halfpenny (86 Caps)
14. George North (92 Caps)
13. Nick Tompkins (1 Cap)
12. Hadleigh Parkes (26 Caps)
11. Josh Adams (22 Caps)
10. Dan Biggar (80 Caps)
9. Tomos Williams (17 Caps)
1. Wyn Jones (23 Caps)
2. Ken Owens (74 Caps)
3. Dillon Lewis (23 Caps)
4. Jake Ball (43 Caps)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (C) (135 Caps)
6. Aaron Wainwright (19 Caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (73 Caps)
8. Taulupe Faletau (73 Caps)

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments