HomeGAAVideo Highlights - Fights, Red Cards and Penalties - Derry beat Dublin

Video Highlights – Fights, Red Cards and Penalties – Derry beat Dublin

Video Highlights – It was an epic division one football final 2024 with red cards, fights and penalties as Derry beat Dublin to lift the trophy.

Derry 3-18 2-21 Dublin – Derry win 3-1 on penalties 

Astonishingly Derry were in Division 4 in 2019, five later, they are Division 1 champions.

Eoin McEvoy won Man of the Match, finishing with 2-02 from centre back. His two goals were both savage.

Derry Secures Allianz Football League Division 1 Title in Dramatic Penalty Shootout Victory over Dublin

Derry etched their name in the annals of football history as they claimed the 2024 Allianz Football League Division 1 championship in a heart-stopping showdown against Dublin. The match, filled with breathtaking goals, pulsating drama, and a dramatic penalty shootout, delivered a spectacle that will be remembered for years to come.

From the opening whistle to the final penalty kick, both teams showcased their mettle, refusing to relent in their pursuit of victory. Despite the high stakes, Derry demonstrated their dominance throughout the game, consistently threatening Dublin’s defense and creating numerous scoring opportunities.

In a display of sheer determination, Derry took the game to Dublin from the outset, seizing an early lead with points from Shane McGuigan and Ethan Doherty. Dublin, however, responded with characteristic resilience, led by Con O’Callaghan and Tom Lahiff, keeping the contest tightly contested.

As the match progressed, Derry’s attacking prowess was on full display, with standout performances from players like Eoin McEvoy and Niall Loughlin. Despite Dublin’s valiant efforts, Derry’s relentless pressure paid off, resulting in crucial goals that kept them ahead on the scoreboard.

However, Dublin refused to concede defeat, mounting a spirited comeback in the closing stages of the game. With time running out, Dublin’s Greg McEnaney delivered a stunning equalizing goal, forcing the match into a dramatic penalty shootout to determine the winner.

In a tense finale, Derry held their nerve, converting three of their penalty kicks to secure victory, with Shane McGuigan, Conor Glass, and Ethan Doherty finding the back of the net. While Dublin fought valiantly, their efforts fell short, with only Paul Mannion managing to score from the spot.


In a match filled with twists and turns, Derry emerges triumphant, clinching the Allianz Football League Division 1 title in a thrilling penalty shootout victory over Dublin. With their unwavering determination and clinical execution, Derry showcased their championship pedigree, etching their place in football history as deserving champions.

Scorers for Derry: Eoin McEvoy 2-2, Shane McGugian 1-4 (2f), Lachlan Murray 0-3 (1 mark), Niall Toner, Niall Loughlin, Conor Glass (1 ’45) all 0-2, Ethan Doherty, Brendan Rogers, Conor Doherty, all 0-1

Scorers for Dublin: Con O’Callaghan 0-5 (all frees), Colm Basquel 1-1, Greg McEnaney 1-0, Tom Lahiff, Cian Murphy, Ross McGarry, Killian O’Gara all 0-2, Seán MaacMahon, Brian Howard, Seán Bugler, Killian McGinnis, Niall Scully, Paddy Small, Paul Mannion (f) all 0-1

DERRY: Odhran Lynch; Conor McCluskey, Christopher McKaigue, Diarmuid Baker; Conor Doherty, Eoin McEvoy; Pádraig McGrogan; Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers; Ethan Doherty, Ciarán McFaul, Paul Cassidy; Niall Loughlin, Shane McGuigan, Lachlan Murray. Subs: Gareth McKinless for Pádraig McGrogan (ht), Niall Toner for Gareth McKinless (52), Cormac Murphy for Niall Loughlin (66), Donncha Gilmore for Paul Cassidy (70), Emmet Bradley for Lachlan Murray (77), Declan Cassidy for Christopher McKaigue (81), Eunan Mulholland for Conor Doherty (88)

DUBLIN: Evan Comerford; Seán McMahon, Cian Murphy, Eoin Murchan; Brian Howard, John Small, Seán Bugler; Brian Fenton, Tom Lahiff; Ross McGarry, Killian McGinnis, Ciarán Kilkenny; Colm Basquel, Con O’Callaghan, Niall Scully. Subs: Paul Mannion for Killiana McGinnis (52), Paddy Small for Colm Basquel, Lorcan O’Dell for Niall Scully (both 57), Killian O’Gara for Ross McGarry (70), Theo Clancy for Eoin Murchan (80), Cian O’Connor for Seán McMahon (80), Greg McEnaney for Seán Bugler (86)


LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments