HomeNewsIreland team to play Georgia on Sunday

Ireland team to play Georgia on Sunday

Ireland Rugby Head Coach Andy Farrell has today named him side to play Georgia in the Autumn Nations Cup at the Aviva Stadium on Sunday.

Among the match day 23 named by Farrell is the uncapped Cork Constitution man Shane Daly, who is named among the replacements.

Changes from last weekend

In a largely changed side to the team that played England last weekend, James Ryan remains as captain.

The front row is made up of Finlay Bealham at loosehead, Rob Herring as hooker and Andrew Power continuing at tighthead prop.

The Ireland captain James Ryan is joined in the second row by Iain Henderson.

Tadhg Beirne is named as blindside flanker, Will Connors at openside, with CJ Stander chosen at No. 8.

Conor Murray returns to the scrum-half role and will play alongside Billy Burns who makes his first starting appearance as out-half.

Bangor’s Stuart McCloskey will partner Chris Farrell in the centre.

Keith Earls and Hugo Keenan are named on the wings with Jacob Stockdale chosen at fullback.

Shane Daly among the replacements

Alongside the uncapped Shane Daly on the bench will be plenty experience in the shape of Cian Healy and Peter O’Mahony, who have over 170 International caps between them.

Three Connacht players, namely Dave Heffernan, Quinn Roux and Kieran Marmion are also named among the replacements.

Munster’s John Ryan and Ross Byrne, who started at number 10 against England at Twickenham last weekend, are the other players among the 23-man match day squad.

The game kicks off at 2pm on Sunday next, with live coverage on both RTÉ and Channel 4.

Ireland Team

15. Jacob Stockdale, 14. Hugo Keenan, 13. Chris Farrell, 12. Stuart McCloskey, 11. Keith Earls, 10. Billy Burns, 9. Conor Murray.

1. Finlay Bealham, 2. Rob Herring, 3. Andrew Porter, 4. Iain Henderson, 5. James Ryan (captain), 6. Tadhg Beirne, 7. Will Connors, 8. CJ Stander.

Ireland Replacements

16. Dave Heffernan, 17. Cian Healy, 18. John Ryan, 19. Quinn Roux, 20. Peter O’Mahony, 21. Kieran Marmion, 22. Ross Byrne, 23. Shane Daly.

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments