HomeSoccerPlayers called up to Ireland squad for Finland encounter

Players called up to Ireland squad for Finland encounter

Five players have been called up to the senior squad amid squad depth crisis

Following Sunday’s meeting with Wales, Stephen Kenny announced he would be calling up additional players for Wednesday’s fixture. “I do, yeah I do… we’ll be addressing that in the next couple of hours” said the Ireland manager after being asked if he would have to make additional call ups. The players that received the call have now been revealed as Dara O’Shea, Jason Knight, Adam Idah, Ryan Manning, Ronan Curtis.

It is Jason Knight’s first call up to the senior squad. The Derby midfielder had previously been selected for the u21s. He will be hoping to get his first cap as well as Ryan Manning and Dara O’Shea, whose form last season will have caught the attention of Stephen Kenny.

Adam Idah had previously been included in the squad before being removed due to close contact with a member of staff who tested positive for covid-19. He has been recalled to the squad following clearance from the HSE. A much needed boost for Stephen Kenny.

The call ups come as a result of 10 players becoming unavailable for selection. The circumstances surrounding the absentees come as a consequence of injury and covid-19 precautions, following positive cases within the camp.

Despite a depleted match day squad, Kenny’s men came out of Dublin with a respectable draw against a Bale-less, but strong Welsh side. Kenny will be hoping he can notch up the first win of his managerial reign against Finland, something he failed to do in their previous encounter. The match takes place at 5 o’clock on Wednesday evening and will be played at the Bolt Arena in Helsinki. Unfortunately for viewers in Ireland, the match will not be shown free to air on Irish television. The match will however be shown live on Sky Sports.

This is the Ireland squad as it stands:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (Bournemouth).
Defenders: Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Celtic, on loan from Brighton & Hove Albion), Kevin Long (Burnley), Cyrus Christie (Nottingham Forest, on loan from Fulham), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion).
Midfielders: Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Jayson Molumby (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jason Knight (Derby County), Ryan Manning (Queens Park Rangers).
Forwards: James McClean (Stoke City), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Shane Long (Southampton), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)

LiveScores Now Available at



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments