HomeGAAGAA Club Action Round-Up - 13th September 2020

GAA Club Action Round-Up – 13th September 2020

It was another exciting weekend of club hurling and football action. The club championships are rapidly approaching the business end. Here’s the club GAA round-up of the major results from around the country.

Click here for GAA live scores


Goals win games and Maghery went goal crazy at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh. They claimed the Armagh title after a storming second-half comeback against defending champions Crossmaglen. Chris Crowley found the net just before the break. Aidan Forker and Oisin Lappin’s green flags were crucial in securing the crown.

Ballyboden St Enda’s will take on Ballymun Kickhams in the Dublin SFC final. The northside kingpins beat Kilmacud Crokes in a frantic finale at Parnell Park today. Despite having two men sent off and conceding a late goal, they advance to the decider. Champions Ballyboden St Enda’s edged an absorbing contest with a 2-11 to 1-11 win over near neighbors, and old adversaries  St Jude’s. The win heaped more misery on the Templeogue outfit. This was St Jude’s sixth defeat in a semi-final appearance in eight years.

In Kerry, Mid Kerry pipped Dr. Crokes by a point after an epic extra-time semi-final. Gavan O’Grady’s goal in the 80th minute propelled them to a date with another divisional side East Kerry. David Clifford was an interested spectator as his East Kerry had too many guns for St. Brendans.

The mercurial Paddy McBrearty scored 0-06 (4f) as Kilcar saw off Gaoth Dobhair 0-14 to 1-6 in the Donegal SFC semi-final.

Workaholics Loughmore-Castleiney advanced to the Tipperary football final. It will be twelve weeks on the spin for the parish as they take on Killadangan in the hurling equivalent next Sunday. Moyle Rovers were persistent challengers, but a strong third-quarter saw Loughmore home.

In Wexford, Shelmaliers’ are still standing after beating Glynn-Barntown at Chadwicks Wexford Park. Like Loughmore they are eying a double, as a result of this victory it will be Castletown up next in the final.

Montbellew Moylough eased into the last-four in Galway, beating Killannin by 11 points. They’ll next get a shot at Corofin, who eased through the gears as they dispatched Salthill Knockacarra. Tuam Stars, who lead last won the Galway crown in 1994, are also through to the semis. They beat Barna 0-17 to 0-16 after extra-time.

Podge Collins gripped a crucial goal to help goal Cratloe’s passage to the Clare final with a victory over St Breckan’s. Last year’s Clare SFC runners-up Kilmurry Ibrickane will get another shot at redemption. They are back in the final after they beat Lissycasey. In a tight tense encounter, they won by the minimum, 1-18 to 3-11, in Ennis.

Tyrellpass will take on St Loman’s in the Westmeath SFC final.


Blackrock continued their impressive form in the Rebel County. They booked their spot in a Cork semi-final after accounting for Douglas at Páirc uí Chaoimh. Alan Connolly goalled for the ‘Rock’. Michael O’Halloran was a constant thorn in the Shandon Division’s side, hitting an impressive seven points from play. Pádraig Power hit 1-4 as UCC students got the better of Na Piarsaigh in the other quarter-final. Erin’s Own upset the odds when sending warm favorites Sarsfields packing in the other quarter-final.
Ballyhale survive a scare

Ballyhale will face 2017 champions Dicksboro in the final. Dicksboro were 2-16 to 0-14 win over O’Loughlin Gaels at Nowlan Park. It was far from plain sailing for the champions Ballyhale however they needed two late scores from Colin Fennelly and Eoin Cody to sneak over the line. James Stephens had held the lead until late in the fray. Dicksboro were somewhat flattered by the scoreboard at Nowlan Park. Shane Stapleton was on fire for Dicksboro scoring 1-10. The haul included two side-line cuts.

In Limerick, Na Piarsaigh hit 1-25 to dethrone Patricksell (0-17). They will face Doon in the showpiece. The’Well’ cause was not helped by having to play with 14 men for most of the hour.

O’Callaghan Mills stunned Tony Kelly’s Ballhea in Clare. A burst of 1-3 in added time, was enough o see them snatch victory from the jaws of defeat. They will face Sixmilebridge who held firm to dispatch a resolute Eire Óg Inis, who almost stole a famous victory.

Dunloy are rapidly becoming Antrim specialists. They won the title for the third time in four years, after a seven-point win over Loughgiel. Having only won their first title in1990 they have a haul of fourteen.

Elsewhere in the province, Slaughtneil are now eight-in-a-row Derry champions after a  massive win over a beleaguered  Kevin Lynch.’

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments