HomeOther SportsShowjumpingUnderwriting Exchange Grand Prix League at Portmore on Saturday

Underwriting Exchange Grand Prix League at Portmore on Saturday

Some of the country’s top showjumpers will be in action in the Underwriting Exchange Grand Prix League at Portmore Equestrian on Saturday.

With only three rounds of the competition remaining, riders will go in search of crucial extra points in the Bluegrass Horsefeeds-sponsored class worth €4,000.

With the top four contenders in the Underwriting Exchange League all due to contend in Portmore exciting action is expected tomorrow.

Current leader Jonathan Smyth and Crystal Tom lead the competition on 38 points, having shown great consistency in securing three wins and a second-place finish.

The reigning National Grand Prix Champion, Liam O’ Meara and Curraghgraigue Jack Take Fligh, are hot on Smyth’s heels on 30 points, while in third place is Derek Mc Connell and Dothraki Warlord sit on 28 points. Despite both of these riders failing to register a win in the competition so far this season, they have been consistently placed throughout the rounds.

Mark Finnerty is on 25 points in fourth place, following a win and three other placings.

Winner of the round in Tipperary Equestrian, Joan Greene and Vivendi Tipperary are declared to jump on Saturday and will also be looking to gather extra points and will be one to watch.

In total, 47 combinations have been declared for this round, and of those 15 spots are occupied by young riders. Amongst the young riders on the list is Mikey Pender, Molly Hughes Bravo, Adam Carey, Annie Courtney-Cadam (JU/YR), Jon McEntee, Brendan Murphy, Katie Conlon, Kerrie Kerr and Mackenzie Healy (JU/YR).

Following his big win in the Irish Breeders Classic on Monday (5 & 6 yr championship), Kevin Gallagher will be looking to add to his record sheet. Gallagher has declared three horses to contest this round (Arcadia LVS Z (8 YO), ESI Star Struck, Flexability).

Ulster riders won’t let the win go that easily and amongst those to watch are Luke Campbell, Frank Curran and Kenneth Graham. The Army Equitation School will be represented by Captain Geoff Curran and Captain Charlene Kehoe.

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments