HomeRugbyRugby IrishWomen’s Six Nations - Ireland starting team to play France

Women’s Six Nations – Ireland starting team to play France

Ireland’s Match Day Squad for the opening Guinness Women’s Six Nations clash against France at Stade Marie-Marvingt has been announced 

Head Coach Scott Bemand has announced Ireland’s Match Day Squad for the opening Guinness Women’s Six Nations clash against France at Stade Marie-Marvingt.

Edel McMahon captains the team, with Katie Corrigan earning her first cap on the wing. Lauren Delany and Beibhinn Parsons complete the back three. Nicole Fowley returns at out half, joined by Aoife Dalton and Eve Higgins in the center. On the bench, reinforcements include Molly Scuffil-McCabe, Dannah O’Brien, and Méabh Deely.

Linda Djougang, Neve Jones, and Christy Haney form the front row, with Dorothy Wall and Hannah O’Connor in the second row. Aoife Wafer and Brittany Hogan join McMahon in the back row. The bench offers strong options with Sarah Delaney, Niamh O’Dowd, Sadhbh McGrath, Fiona Tuite, and Grace Moore.

Commenting on the selection, the Ireland Head Coach said:

“We are all very excited to get our Guinness Women’s Six Nations campaign underway and we come into this weekend ready to put a confident performance out there. We have had a good block of preparation with players returning and we are ready to compete. I’m looking forward to seeing all the hard work come together on Saturday and what a place to kick start our Six Nations, in Stade Marie-Marvingt.”

Ireland Team (v France, Sevens Stadium Dubai, Saturday 23 March, Stade Marie-Marvingt, kick off 2.15pm Irish time)

15. Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)
14. Katie Corrigan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)*
13. Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
12. Aoife Dalton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Béibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College/Connacht)
10. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
9. Aoibheann Reilly (Blackrock College/Connacht)

1. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
2. Neve Jones (Gloucester-Hartpury)
3. Christy Haney Blackrock College/Leinster)
4. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/Munster)
5. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College/Leinster)
6. Aoife Wafer (Blackrock College/Leinster)
7. Edel McMahon (Exeter Chiefs) Captain
8. Brittany Hogan (Old Belvedere /Ulster)


16. Sarah Delaney (Blackrock College/Leinster)
17. Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
18. Sadhbh McGrath (Cooke/Ulster)
19. Fiona Tuite (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
20. Grace Moore (Saracens/IQ Rugby)
21. Molly Scuffil-McCabe (Leinster)
22. Dannah O’Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
23. Méabh Deely (Blackrock College/Connacht)

*Denotes uncapped player

Check out the leading WhatsApp Channel for Irish Rugby News – Click here 

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments