HomeGAADivision 1: Donegal put Meath to the sword in Navan

Division 1: Donegal put Meath to the sword in Navan

Donegal put Meath to the sword in Navan in an emphatic 3-08 to 0-07 win. Michael Murphy once again proved his worth to the Declan Bonner side registering 1-02 on the scoreboard.

The sides have gotten used to playing each other over the last few years. Donegal and Meath met three times in 2019 with Donegal winning all three. It was Andy McEntee’s men though that made a brighter start than the Tir Chonaill men. They raced into a 0-04 to 0-01 lead. Tom O’Reilly kicked the opening score for Meath, before David Toner scored a sublime score. Cillian O’Sullivan and Bryan McMahon extended the lead before Donegal finally on the scoreboard. Donegal then had a penalty saved by Meath goalkeeper Marcus Brennan. Michael Murphy shot to the right was well saved. It was all Donegal from here as Meath wouldn’t score till the 40th minute.

Ciaran Thompson pointed for the visitors, before Donegal’s first goal arrived through Odhran McFadden-Ferry on 28 minute. The Gweedore man riffled an effort in past Brennan. Donegal had another goal on 33 minutes. Michael Murphy this time on target finishing to the goalkeeper’s right. A low scoring half 2-02 to 0-04.

On 39 minutes Donegal got their third goal of the game courtesy of Michael Langan. It all came from some superb play from Ryan McHugh who broke clear down the left wing, before throwing a dummy. He then found Langan who palmed the ball to the net. Jamie Brennan and Langan added points, before Niall O’Donnell and 2012 All-Ireland winning captain Michael Murphy finished off the scoring to give Donegal a deserving 10 point win as they put Meath to the sword.

Next up for Donegal is a game with Galway in Letterkenny, while for Meath they will face Mayo in what is already looking like a big game for the Royals if they are to stay in the top flight in 2021.

Donegal: Shaun Patton; Eoin Ban Gallagher, Neil McGee, Odhran McFadden Ferry (1-00); Caolan Ward, Conor O’Donnell, Eoin McHugh; Hugh McFadden (0-01), Michael Langan (1-01); Paul Brennan, Ryan McHugh, Ciaran Thompson (0-01, 0-01f); Peadar Mogan, Michael Murphy (1-02, 1-00 pen, 0-02f), Jamie Brennan (0-02).

Subs: Andrew McClean for E McHugh (50), Niall O’Donnell (0-01) for Mogan (55), Brendan McCole for McFadden Ferry (55), Jeaic McKelvey for McFadden (67), Ciaran Diver for P Brennan (71).

Meath: Marcus Brennan; Robin Clarke, Conor McGill, David Toner (0-01); James McEntee, Brian Conlon, Donal Keogan; Bryan Menton, Ronan Jones; Mathew Costello, Bryan McMahon (0-01, 0-01f), Eamon Wallace; Cillian O’Sullivan (0-02, 0-02f), Thomas O’Reilly (0-03), Joey Wallace.

Subs: Ben Brennan for Costello (h/t), Ethan Devine for E Wallace (48), Ronan Ryan for Conlon (55), Sean Tobin for J Wallace (62), James Conlon for McMahon (62).


LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments