HomeRugbyRugby IrishLeinster v Dragons - Preview and Team News - Kick off Friday...

Leinster v Dragons – Preview and Team News – Kick off Friday 7:35pm

Pro14 Rugby – Leinster v Dragons – Preview and Team News – Kick off Friday 7:35pm. Match live on EirSports.

Luke McGrath will captain the side as Jack Conan makes his 100th appearance for his home province from the base of the scrum.

In the back three Max O’Reilly starts at full back with Cian Kelleher on the right wing and Dave Kearney on the left.

In the centre Ross Byrne is joined by the fit-again Rory O’Loughlin who has recovered from a shoulder injury.

In the half backs captain McGrath is joined by Harry Byrne. It will be the first time that brothers Harry and Ross have started a game together in Leinster colours.

To the pack and Peter Dooley, James Tracy and Michael Bent are the front row selected by Cullen, with Bent back after a neck injury. Ross Molony and Ryan Baird are selected in the second row.

In the back row Josh Murphy starts at blindside with Scott Penny at openside having recovered from a neck injury.

Finally, Wicklow man Conan will win his 100th cap for Leinster Rugby from number eight.

The 28-year-old, who has 17 Ireland caps also to his name, made his debut almost seven years ago to the day also against Welsh opposition when winning the Man of the Match award in a try-scoring performance against Cardiff Blues.

In his seven years in blue he has, to date, scored 21 tries in his 99 appearances.

It could also be a memorable occasion for Marcus Hanan who is in line to make his Leinster Rugby debut off the bench should he be introduced.

The 20-year-old played his age grade rugby with Clane RFC in Kildare and was capped by Ireland Under 20s during the 2020 Six Nations. The six foot tall, loosehead prop plays his club rugby with Old Belvedere.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Max O’Reilly (2)
14. Cian Kelleher (21)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (74)
12. Ross Byrne (95)
11. Dave Kearney (159)
10. Harry Byrne (18)
9. Luke McGrath (140) CAPTAIN
1. Peter Dooley (85)
2. James Tracy (121)
3. Michael Bent (151)
4. Ross Molony (107)
5. Ryan Baird (18)
6. Josh Murphy (40)
7. Scott Penny (20)
8. Jack Conan (99)

16. Dan Sheehan (5)
17. Marcus Hanan (0)
18. Tom Clarkson (5)
19. Devin Toner (256)
20. Scott Fardy (70)
21. Rowan Osborne (6)
22. David Hawkshaw (5)
23. Jamie Osborne (1)

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU)

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments