HomeGAADivision 1b Hurling: Clare beat Wexford 0-18 to 0-15

Division 1b Hurling: Clare beat Wexford 0-18 to 0-15

A Tony Kelly inspired Clare beat Wexford 0-18 to 0-15 in Division 1b of the hurling league. Kelly racked up 0-12 (0-10f) for Brian Lohan’s charges as they ended up three point winners over Davy Fitzgerald’s side at Wexford Park.

Wexford hit 13 wides in the game which probably cost them in the end against a 14 man Clare side owing to John Conlon’s dismissal on 29 minutes due to a high tackle on Kevin Foley. Clare took the game to Wexford in the opening 15 minutes or so, playing with the wind they took a 0-06 to 0-00 after 12 minutes. Kelly knocked over a couple of frees, while Ryan Taylor pointed twice. Wexford hit back with scores of their own. Jack O’Connor knocking over three frees. It was 0-06 to 0-03 after 27 minutes. Tony Kelly knocked over a further four more points from frees, while the impressive David Fitzgerald and Shane O’Neill also raised white flags to give Clare a 0-12 to 0-04 lead at the break.

Wexford aided with the breeze in the second half came out and got scores from a Paudie Foley free and the O’Connor brothers Jack and Rory. Mark Fanning also pointing. The gap was down to three after 46 minutes, 0-12 to 0-09. However, Wexford hit 5 wides in the space of a couple of minutes, However the gap was down to just one point with McDonald (2), McGovern and Morris all on target. However, former hurler of the year Tony Kelly showed calmness when pointing. Wexford hit four late wides which Davy would be angry about. Ballyea man Kelly rounded off the win with two late scores as Brian Lohan got one over on his old teammate Davy Fitzgerald as Clare beat Wexford.

Clare: Donal Touhy; Conor Cleary, Jack Browne, Eoin Quirke; Stephen O’Halloran, Pat O’Connor, Aidan McCarthy; David McInerney, Tony Kelly (0-12, 10 frees); David Reidy, David Fitzgerald (0-3), Ian Galvin; Ryan Taylor (0-2), John Conlon (capt.), Shane O’Donnell (0-1).

Subs: Cathal Malone for Kelly (blood., 26-29); Domhnall McMahon for Galvin (46); Seadna Morey for Taylor (55); Malone for Reidy (60); Liam Corry for Quirke (69); Aaron Shanagher for O’Donnell (70+2).

Wexford: Mark Fanning (0-1); Joe O’Connor, Liam Ryan, Shane Reck; Damien Reck, Pádraig Foley (0-3 frees), Shaun Murphy; Liam Óg McGovern (0-1), Kevin Foley; Aidan Rochford (0-1), Rory O’Connor (0-2), Jack O’Connor (capt., 0-4, 3 frees); Cathal Dunbar, Conor McDonald (0-2), Paul Morris (0-1)

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments