Three and easy as Galway minors win 2019 All Ireland hurling title

It was an easy victory for the Galway minor hurlers (u17) in the 2019 hurling final.

Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Final


Goals win matches and Galway scored three against a Kilkenny team who just failed to perform on the day.

This was Galway’s third title in a row, fourth in five years and their 13th overall, which will come as a badly needed tonic for Galway hurling fans after the poor showing by the seniors this year.

Sean McDonagh ended the hour with a 2-8 haul and the Man of the Match award. He was instrumental throughout for Galway. Tiernan Kileen’s two points bookended the scoring for the Tribesmen, who could afford to run up a total of 14 wides to Kilkenny’s 5, such was their dominance of the Sliotar over the 60 plus minutes of the match.

Ruben Davitt bagged the first goal of the game after just eight minutes and Galway never relinquished the lead after that. Sean McDonagh drilled a penalty to the net with the last play of the first half, as Galway led by five points at the break (2-6 v 0-7).

For Kilkenny, there will be disappointment that they failed to get to grips with the tempo of the game. As the pace and workrate of this fine Galway side left Kilkenny puffing for breath on a few occasions. Billy Drennan’s free’s and a couple of fine points from Colman O’Sullivan kept them in touch for most of the first half, but McDonagh’s penalty on half-time after Greg Thomas was pull down was a killer blow for the Cats who went into the dressing room 5 behind rather than just two down.

Brian Hanley’s youngsters continued in the same vein after the break and they hit five unanswered points after the restart. The third goal was the final nail in the Kilkenny coffin as Greg Thomas played a delightful ball into the path of McDonagh, who duly found the back of Aidan Tallis’ net.

It was a dominant display for a fine Galway side and Brian Hanley has continued the production line of young talent in the west. He has tasted success in his first year at the helm after taking over from Jeff Lynskey who led them to three All-Ireland’s in the previous four years. Speaking after the game Hanley complimented the work rate and skill level of his young side and praised them for their display on the biggest stage of all. He said they planned to make Croke Park their home this year and said “it’s a great platform for these lads to express their talents”, and they certainly did that today when it mattered most.

Scorers for Galway: Sean McDonagh 2-8 (1-0 pen, 6fs, 165), Ruben Davitt 1-2, Tiernan Killeen 0-2, Greg Thomas and Alex Connaire 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Billy Drennan 0-6 (5fs), Colman O’Sullivan 0-2, Peter McDonald, Braedon Wheeler, Timmy Clifford, and Liam Moore 0-1 each.

GALWAY: Michael Egan; Christy Brennan, Eoin Lawless, Adam Nolan; Enda Collins, Ian McGlynn, John Cooney; Liam Leen, Alex Connaire; Colm Cunningham, Sean McDonagh, Tiernan Killeen; Ruben Davitt, Shane Morgan, Greg Thomas.

Subs: Gavin Lee for Cunningham (46), Sean O’Hanlon for Morgan (52), Eanna Davoren for Collins (55), Colm Molloy for Davitt (59), Niall Glynn for Thomas (60).

KILKENNY: Aidan Tallis; Billy Reid, William Halpin, Tristan Roche; Peter McDonald, Padraic Moylan, Zach Bay Hammond; Liam Moore, James Aylward; Pierce Blanchfield, Timmy Clifford, Colman O’Sullivan; Billy Drennan, Jack Doyle, Ian Byrne.

Subs: Denis Walsh for Blanchfield (38), Andy Hickey for Aylward (44), Braedon Wheeler for Byrne (52), Aran Murphy for Drennan (59).

REFEREE: Patrick Murphy (Carlow).

More to follow


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.