HomeGAALimerick vs Clare: Munster SHC Preview, Starting Teams & Live scores

Limerick vs Clare: Munster SHC Preview, Starting Teams & Live scores

There are two prizes on offer for the winner of Limerick vs Clare on Sunday. Firstly, the victor will advance to the Munster semi-final against Tipperary the following week. Secondly, the winner will also be crowned League Champions. After finishing top of Group A and B in Division 1 respectively, Limerick and Clare’s Championship decider has conveniently doubled up as the League decider.


Limerick manager John Kiely admitted to not giving much thought to the fixture’s status as a double-header. It is clear that the Championship is the priority for Limerick. In 2019, they fell at the semi-final stage of the Championship to Kilkenny.

Now, Kiely’s team are out to go one better and claim their second Championship in three years. Their League form earlier in the year was certainly cause for optimism.

On the other hand, Clare’s U20 defeat to Tipperary last Monday night has freed up a number of players who Brian Lohan can call upon. However, Aidan McCarthy remains out with a broken thumb.

Earlier in the year, Clare went unbeaten in the League. A draw on the road against Kilkenny was particularly promising. After getting knocked out of the Championship early last year, the Banner county are out with a point to prove.

The game is live on RTÉ 2 on Sunday.

The winner plays Tipperary a week later. Whereas, the loser enter into the All-Ireland SHC Qualifiers on November 7/8.


Limerick. Despite the absence of a crowd, the home advantage is still a welcome one. Furthermore, Limerick will be aiming to go all the way this year and laying down a marker in their first game is a target. But, Clare are more than able to challenge and will be a good test for the 2018 Champions.

Team News

Limerick (Munster SHC v Clare): Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Paddy O’Loughlin; Cian Lynch, Will O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Graeme Mulcahy, Aaron Gillane, Peter Casey.

Subs: Barry Hennessy, Conor Boylan, Jerome Boylan, Adrian Breen, Ronan Connolly, Seamus Flanagan, Robbie Hanley, Darragh O’Donovan, Brian O’Grady, David Reidy, Pat Ryan.

Clare (Munster SHC v Limerick): Eibhear Quilligan; Jack Browne, Conor Cleary, Stephen O’Halloran; Seadna Morey, Patrick O’Connor, Aidan McCarthy; David McInerney, Tony Kelly; Diarmuid Ryan, David Reidy, David Fitzgerald; Ryan Taylor, Cathal Malone, Shane O’Donnell.

Subs: Donal Tuohy, Paidi Fitzpatrick, Rory Hayes, Domhnall McMahon, Aron Shanagher, Aaron Cunningham, Jason McCarthy, Gary Cooney, Colin Guilfoyle, Paul Flanagan.

Limerick vs Clare: Munster SHC Quarter-Final. Sunday, October 25th (Thurles).


LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments