HomeRugbyFarrell names team to play Wales

Farrell names team to play Wales

Ireland rugby boss Andy Farrell has named his team to play Wales on Saturday at 2.15pm in the Aviva Stadium. The team shows two changes from the side selected to start against Scotland weekend. We made our predicted team here on Monday and we weren’t far wrong.

In the front row Cian Healy, Rob Herring and Wexford’s Tadhg Furlong continue their partnership. The second row is also unchanged with Iain Henderson and James Ryan selected to start. Peter O’Mahony comes in at number 6, while CJ Stander switches to number 8 after Caelan Dorris is ruled out due to Return to play Protocols. Speaking of this Andy Farrell said, “He had a bit of a knock previously this year, we do the right thing by young kids and make sure they are treated properly”. Josh Van Der Flier also retains his place in the side.

In the backs Jordan Larmour is once again named at full back. Andrew Conway and Jacob Stockdale will occupy the wings. Johnny Sexton is once again at fly-half and will captain the side, he will be partnered by Conor Murray. In the centre Robbie Henshaw comes in to replace the injured Garry Ringrose, Bundee Aki is named once again.

On the bench Keith Earls returns from injury, while Max Deegan could make his Ireland debut also. Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter and Devin Toner are also selected. Ross Byrne is named as the replacement fly-half, while John Cooney is expected to get game time once again.

Ireland come into the game with 2 World Cup warm game wins over the Welsh. However, when they last played in the Six Nations Wales romped to 25-7 win. Ireland will need to be at their very best if they are to come away with the win in my opinion.

Ireland: Jordan Larmour, Andrew Conway, Robbie Henshaw, Bundee Aki, Jacob Stockdale, Johnny Sexton (capt), Conor Murray; Cian Healy, Rob Herring, Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, James Ryan, Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, CJ Stander

Replacements: Ronan Kelleher, Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter, Devin Toner, Max Deegan, John Cooney, Ross Byrne, Keith Earls.

Video from Off The Ball.

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments