HomeGAAClare Football Final: Cratloe vs Kilmurry-Ibrickane Preview

Clare Football Final: Cratloe vs Kilmurry-Ibrickane Preview

This year’s Clare SFC Final is a repeat of 2016’s. On that occasion, Kilmurry-Ibrickane took home the Jack Daly Cup. Now, Cratloe are out to win their first Championship since 2014.

Last weekend, both sides fought their way into the final. Firstly, Kilmurry-Ibrickane took on a determined Lissycasey team.

Leading by just two points at half-time, Kilmurry-Ibrickane restarted the game with a flourish. A Keelan Sexton goal was sandwiched by two points in the first minute as they opened up a seven-point lead.

Lissycasey weren’t going down easy though. Cousins Shane Griffin and Aaron Griffin both found the net as they brought the scores back to level by the 46th minute.

However, six-points without reply meant Kilmurry-Ibrickane were looking comfortable in the final few minutes. Again, Lissycasey fought back. Shane Griffin bagged his second goal and an injury-time push put the pressure on. In the end, Kilmurry-Ibrickane came out on top. The result was 1-18 to 3-11.

Secondly, Cratloe had to fend off St Breckans in their semi-final. Down by a goal at half-time, Cathal McInerney converted a penalty early in the second half to bring the game back. Yet, Breckans pushed on again. Cratloe needed another goal from Podge Collins to keep in touch. The 2016 finalists were massively aided by St Breckans going down to 14 men for the last few minutes. As a result, they pushed on and saw out the game. The final score in Cusack Park was 2-16 to 1-15.

Kilmurry-Ibrickane won 4 finals in the last ten years. Likewise, they hope to begin the new decade with a Championship. On the other hand, after winning back-to-back Championships in 2013 and 2014, Cratloe have a chance to avenge their 2016 loss to the same opposition.

Both these sides have been here before and know what it takes to win. In short, expect this Clare SFC Final to be tightly contested.

Paths to the Final

Round 1

Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-12 vs 0-09 St. Joseph’s Miltown Malbay.

Lissycasey 2-09 vs 0-13 Cratloe.

Round 2

Kilmurry-Ibrickane 3-06 vs 0-10 Éire Óg Ennis.

Cratloe 2-11 vs 0-09 Clondegad.


Cratloe 0-16 vs 2-08 St. Joseph’s Miltown Malbay.


Kilmurry-Ibrickane 1-18 vs 3-11 Lissycasey.

Cratloe 2-16 vs 1-15 St Breckans.

Clare SFC Final: Cratloe vs Kilmurry-Ibrickane, Saturday 26th September, Cusack Park (Throw-in TBC).


LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments