HomeGAADublin beat Mayo in MacHale Park

Dublin beat Mayo in MacHale Park

Dublin 1-11 Mayo 0-08

Dublin beat Mayo in MacHale Park on scoreline of 1-11 to 0-08. It was manager Dessie Farrell’s first competitive win as Dublin senior football boss.

Aidan O’Shea opened the scoring for Mayo inside the first 15 seconds. The Breaffy man wasn’t originally named in the side and replaced Kevin McLoughlin before throw in. It took the All-Ireland champions 9 minutes to get on the scoreboard with Ciaran Kilkenny registering a white flag. James Horan’s charges pushed two points clear. Diarmuid O’Connor kicked a glorious 45, while James Carr landed a score from play. Mayo were then dealt a massive though as Flynn was sent off for catching John Small in the face. Whether it was a red card or not we will let you decide.

Dean Rock then got on the scoreboard on 19 minutes. However, on 25 minutes, James Durcan made it double scores. Fergal Boland and Kevin McManamon traded scores. Dean Rock and James McCarthy got on the scoreboard to. Colm Boyle went off with a knee injury, however Lee Keegan was brought in as a substitute.

Dan O’Brien kicked the opening score of the second half to put Dublin ahead. Dean Rock then goaled on 45 minutes after some neat play from McManamon n the build up. He came down from right wing before crossing a ball to the edge of the square to Rock who fisted to the net. Dublin ahead 1-06 to 0-05. Niall Scully added a further point to stretch the lead.

Durcan got Mayo’s first score in 23 minutes from a free. Mick Fitzsimons was then black carded and sin-binned for a poor mistimed shoulder. James McCarthy had Dublin coasting when he pointed on 66 minutes. Tommy Conroy replied for the hosts. Dean Rock and Aaron Byrne knocked over points, before Boland registered a consolation point. Dublin the winners in the end though as they beat Mayo.

Mayo: R Hennelly; P O’Hora, O Mullin, B Harrison; M Plunkett, C Boyle, P Durcan; S Coen, D O’Connor (0-01, 1f); F Boland (0-02, 1m), R O’Donoghue, J Flynn; A O’Shea (0-01), J Carr (0-01), J Durcan (0-02, 1f).

Subs used: L Keegan for Boyle (inj); T Conroy (0-1) for Carr; K McLoughlin for O’Donoghue; J McCormack for O’Shea; C Loftus for J Durcan.

Dublin: E Comerford; M Fitzsimons, D Byrne, R O’Carroll; J McCarthy (0-02), J Small (0-01), E Murchan; B Fenton, B Howard; N Scully (0-01), C McHugh, C Kilkenny (0-01); K McManamon (0-01), D O’Brien (0-01), D Rock (1-03, 2f).

Subs used: P Mannion for McHugh; L Flatman for O’Carroll; P Small for McManamon; A Byrne (0-1) for O’Brien; C O’Shea for Murchan.

LiveScores Now Available at IrishScores.com



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments